SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / How do you move the verticies in 2016

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
09-12-2015, 02:59 PM   #1
ergoproxie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 4
How do you move the verticies in 2016
Hi there,

New to 2016 - how do you move the vertices normally instead of the whole object.

Thanks!

Last edited by ergoproxie; 09-12-2015 at 03:03 PM.
  Reply with quote
09-12-2015, 04:26 PM   #2
mythandra
Subscriber
 
mythandra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 154
right Click the object and select vertices and then select which verts you want to move and then press w on the keyboard to select the move tool and move them with the handles.

Cheers Myth
__________________
Custom built W10 Pro 64 bit, Hazwell Intel 5820, Asus X99 MOBO, 32 GB DDR4 Ram, EVGA nVidia GTX1080 Founders Edition, 512GB SSD Primary HDD, 16TB Storage, 27" Samsung 4k Display. Wacom 27QHD, Oculus Rift CV1
  Reply with quote
09-12-2015, 05:12 PM   #3
ergoproxie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 4
unfortunately that's what I did. However, after selecting a vert and moving it with w the entire object moves with the vert - not just the vert?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 17.13.11.png
Views:	74
Size:	161.2 KB
ID:	57006   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 17.13.18.png
Views:	68
Size:	165.9 KB
ID:	57007  
  Reply with quote
09-12-2015, 05:31 PM   #4
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
You have soft select on just press the "B" button..........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MEL line SelectToggleMode; not working Skalman Maya Technical Issues 1 13-04-2017 10:26 AM
Is it possible to make Maya 2016 look and behave more like 2011 danielchappelle Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 15-08-2016 10:47 AM
Objects move inconsistently when I move multiple MrSandman Maya Technical Issues 5 20-04-2015 08:13 PM
Move Tool, Persp view, Constrain to 2 axis, can't return to 3 axis richparker Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 26-01-2015 02:34 PM
how to move a point in animation graph editor nowonder Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 29-10-2005 08:07 PM