SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / .obj import from cad, geomagic

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
17-01-2008, 02:18 PM   #1
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
.obj import from cad, geomagic
Hey guy`s

I have a client that gave me a .dxf file to convert to a pen outline drawing render.

Now i asked the client to export the dxf file to .obj, so i can import it into maya.

in maya, blender, topogun and bodypaint i get errors and it dose not show up.

In Zbrush i can see the model. now i try to export it again from zbrush and then import it into Maya.

Dose not work.

So i`m stuck with a working dxf file that i cant convert.

btw the exported dxf file came from geomagic a 3d scanning program.

Anybody have a solution for me?

And they can`t export it to 3ds for some reason while the specification says it can.

Btw the dxf file is a full mesh object (3d scanning)

Thanks for the help!
  Reply with quote
17-01-2008, 02:42 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Hi Aikoworld

Dont know if thins helps but maya's got a dxf import option, not too sure what the actual name of it is but its in the plug in manager, might be worht a look if you've not come accross it.

Cheers

Steve
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
17-01-2008, 03:00 PM   #3
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Hey gster123 i have tried the dxf file but no luck.

Thx for the suggestion!
  Reply with quote
23-01-2008, 01:56 PM   #4
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
found the problem my client gave only a .obj without any mtl files.

And seems you will have no display if there is no mtl file with the original exported model.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Import CAD files into Maya ... mtcgs Maya Technical Issues 0 22-04-2011 04:22 PM
How to import an .obj sequence vfx2g Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 30-06-2010 09:18 AM
Can not import .obj files in Maya 7? TheDyingInformant Maya Technical Issues 0 30-10-2006 04:15 AM
I can't import .obj in 3dStudio Max mi-81 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 8 24-05-2006 02:04 PM
Maya for Mac OS .obj import BigBadErik Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 20-09-2002 09:28 PM