SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Maya 8.5 on Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
12-10-2008, 06:17 AM   #1
MediaSpinner
Registered User
 
MediaSpinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posts: 5
Maya 8.5 on Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard
I'm still running Maya 8.5 Unlimited on a Mac G5 which runs Mac OS X 10.4.11 - it runs fine. Will it run fine if I upgrade the Mac OS to "Leopard", Mac's OS X 10.5?

Thanks.
  Reply with quote
12-10-2008, 06:20 AM   #2
Jr.Who
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah, it should.
  Reply with quote
12-10-2008, 06:33 AM   #3
MediaSpinner
Registered User
 
MediaSpinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posts: 5
Excellent... thanks for the tip.

I recently downloaded the upgrade of Zbrush 3.12 and apparently it requires 10.5, so perhaps it's time to move on up.

Any other issues with other apps? I use the typical Adobe CS3 programs.

Ultimately I'd like to upgrade to the new Maya 2009, but w/ Unlimited that could be too pricey at the moment...
  Reply with quote
12-10-2008, 06:35 AM   #4
Jr.Who
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by MediaSpinner
Any other issues with other apps? I use the typical Adobe CS3 programs.
Nope. Leopard's been out for a year, remember? It's not like Microsoft… lol
  Reply with quote
12-10-2008, 08:35 AM   #5
MediaSpinner
Registered User
 
MediaSpinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posts: 5
:attn: True!
  Reply with quote
12-10-2008, 03:30 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Good job its CS3 your using. The CS2 suite aint Leopard supported.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
12-10-2008, 08:14 PM   #7
shadowspy
Registered User
 
shadowspy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 116
I run both CS3 and Maya on my leopard. It should run fine.
  Reply with quote
14-10-2008, 01:39 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Isnt Zbrush 3.12 for intel only macs?

If thats the case you might have to upgrade the whole computer.. Ouch, though you would get leopard with it, if thats any consolation.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
14-10-2008, 08:03 PM   #9
MediaSpinner
Registered User
 
MediaSpinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posts: 5
Regarding ZBrush 3 for Macs... I'll have to look into that. That would be bad, since there are still plenty of non-Intel Macs up and running fine out here.
  Reply with quote
14-10-2008, 08:58 PM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Just had a look on Pixoligics site and it looks like there intel only as theres no mention of PPC's in the system requirements.

I kind of get a feeling that PPC macs are getting pushed out of the loop, it sounds awful but I wouldn't be surprised if support for them drops off considerably when the 3 year warrantys run out on the last bought PPC's and if the new version of OSX dosent support them as developers would concentrate on the new OS and X86 rarther than older technology, which I think they would as its just progression.

I also would watch out for any older softwares that you may have with leopard as its not completly unfalable with software, there were quite a few if I remember rightly that would not run correctly on it, one of the major ones was the Adobe CS2 suite, good job that CS3 was out but a pain for anyone with CS2.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
14-10-2008, 09:07 PM   #11
MediaSpinner
Registered User
 
MediaSpinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posts: 5
Thanks for checking gster123. I browsed there on the Pixelogic forums a bit too. Quite few angry Mac customers! I don't use ZBrush too often, and have an Intel MacBook Pro as well as a PC workstaion, so maybe I'll rely on those machines to run it. In computer HW and SW - upgrades seems to be the name of the game, eh matey?
  Reply with quote
14-10-2008, 10:22 PM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Yeah upgrades here, there and everywhere!

Got to say thats on good thing with windows, supports arround for ages, in addition to my laptop thats running XP that I use for everything, I've got a box thats got XP (nevergone bothered going to vista) and even though its 7 years old it still can run anything, where as apple update to a "new" os every 18 months or so which buggers up softwares unless you get the latest version or softwares only available for the previous version, or the version before which ends up being ruddy confusing as well as pretty much forcing an upgrade to either a new comp or OS (think maya 09 might not be PPC supported too and needs leopard).

But yeah its a minefield!!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
14-10-2008, 10:50 PM   #13
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
If you dont have an intel mac there is very little point upgrading, it will just slow you down
Id wait till snow leopard and get an intel mac
  Reply with quote
15-10-2008, 12:06 AM   #14
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Quote:
Originally posted by elephantinc
Id wait till snow leopard and get an intel mac
And then wait to see what the new mac models might be that are in your price range that may or may not come out just after.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
15-10-2008, 12:20 AM   #15
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Yeah
when buying a mac you ideally want to buy when a new OS comes out along with a new range
Its the same for pcs really (but if you were waiting for Vista you had a long disappointing wait)
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Crashing on Mac OS 10.5 krayzface Maya Technical Issues 2 17-09-2008 05:10 PM
PERSP window bug maya 8.5 on the Mac mayanim8 Maya Technical Issues 6 28-08-2007 02:52 PM
Maya 5 - Mac OS X UI issue ptdrake77 Maya Technical Issues 1 21-07-2004 08:16 PM
Maya for Mac OS .obj import BigBadErik Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 20-09-2002 09:28 PM
Maya for Mac OSX and Plugins BigBadErik Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 16-09-2002 09:49 PM