SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Your Work / Work In Progress / ZBrush Play

Work In Progress Post your WIP here to get some feedback and critique from our other members.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
03-10-2007, 07:50 AM   #1
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
ZBrush Play
Have been playing around with ZBrush some today, and this is what I got after an hour or so. I started with the basic standard head.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	zbrushhead4.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	86.6 KB
ID:	36491  
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 08:04 AM   #2
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
So this is the first time u played with it? did u buy it? Is zbursh easy to use? Any tuts?


lookin nice
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 08:15 AM   #3
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
I tried it some year ago a little. Got myself a video tutorial that I started watching and started to play around again. This time I'm gonna learn the program for real!

It's very easy to use, after a couple of hours when you learn the basics of the user interface you can start sculpting immediately. I only know the very basics. Have only watched about 1 hour of video tutorial.
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 09:55 AM   #4
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,889
I'll give you an "E" for Effort but whatever you did with the neck is just...wrong, hehe. I won't say more than that because I know you're just playing around with it and trying to learn it.

Not only does it sound like you're having fun, it looks like you're learning it pretty quickly.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 01:06 PM   #5
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Cool can u linkz me to the tut?
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 07:42 PM   #6
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
I don't think SimplyMaya would appreciate that I post links to their competitors... the company name stars with gnom.
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 09:23 PM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Nice!

Z's great fun, once you get the basics its pretty easy to get your Ideas out.

Whats the lines on the right hand side??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 10:21 PM   #8
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Those lines would be a so called "bug".... They appeared when I sculpted at a very sharp angle.... don't know how to get rid of them without breaking the whole model.
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 10:53 PM   #9
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,277
I had those lines on a model a few weeks back, I just dropped the res back one level, deleted the highest level then divided again and it was fine


Jay
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 11:06 PM   #10
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Hey Jay,

ok, will try that. Although some work is lost then
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 11:09 PM   #11
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,277
yeah but only one level. so if you are at level 7 just go to 6 and delete the highest level.

Cheers
Jay
  Reply with quote
03-10-2007, 11:52 PM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Would not going down the levels to see where they pop from and doung a bit of a smooth not sort them out??

Ive not had that problem before.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
04-10-2007, 02:57 AM   #13
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
They did indeed disappear if you go back one level. I tried to smooth them on the final level but they wont disappear.
  Reply with quote
04-10-2007, 04:41 AM   #14
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,277
thats why I said delete the highest res, it doesnt work with smoothing, just adds more probs to it.

Cheers
Jay
  Reply with quote
04-10-2007, 05:03 AM   #15
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Yah I know, I was just telling gster123...
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
maya vs zbrush wendy3112 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 18-07-2016 06:26 PM
zbrush texture help. mike88 Work In Progress 18 18-07-2012 07:53 AM
Zbrush play Kurt Work In Progress 13 12-12-2007 10:22 PM
Zbrush technel Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 17-10-2005 06:25 PM
aargh! dpvtank Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 25 09-02-2003 05:17 AM