Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 26-06-2003 , 09:37 PM
train_ucl's Avatar
user title spammer
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 195

color attribute

Hello

as a total newb i got a newb question:

how do i have to write a color ?
i want to assign a color to my lambert material with a mel-script:

lamMAT_matrix.color = ;

i dont know how the mel script wants the color ...
thanks for help


-train~

# 2 26-06-2003 , 10:19 PM
kbrown's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
It's a vector variable so you write it:
lamMAT_matrix.color = << r, g, b >>;

where r = red, g = green and blue ranging from 0 to 1.
Black would be << 0, 0, 0 >>, white would be << 1, 1, 1 >> and mid green would be << 0, 0.5, 0 >>. Get it?


Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
# 3 27-06-2003 , 08:47 AM
train_ucl's Avatar
user title spammer
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 195
HEllo! First, thanks for your help ...
i did it befor that way as well, because i found this expression for a vector in the maya help, but it tried it and maya gave me this answer (to the exact same line you wrote) :
"Error: Attributes must be of float, integer, or boolean types: color" ...
and thats what i don´t get user added image ...the rest i am familiar with from photoshop.
do you have any idea why maya doesn´t accept that line ?

-train~

# 4 27-06-2003 , 09:01 AM
kbrown's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Uh... I talked BS before :p
It's not a vector variable. It's a float3. You also (may) need to use the setAttr command:

setAttr lambert1.color 1 1 1;

Sorry, my bad...


Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
# 5 27-06-2003 , 05:31 PM
mark_wilkins's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 161
In an expression, you set the R, G, and B like this:

lambert1.colorR = 0;
lambert1.colorG = 1;
lambert1.colorB = 0;

You can connect another float3 attribute to lambert1.color, which is a compound attribute that includes colorR, colorG, and colorB.

Look in the Node and Attribute Reference to see this stuff -- these attributes are listed on the page for the Lambert node.

-- Mark


Mark R. Wilkins
author of MEL Scripting for Maya Animators
www.melscripting.com
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off