SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Lighting & Rendering / Transparency Rendering Issue in Maya 2011

Lighting & Rendering General Lighting, Camera & Rendering Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
27-11-2010, 05:18 AM   #1
Listern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Transparency Rendering Issue in Maya 2011
Hey everyone I'm new to compositing video in maya for 3-d integration. I've been having a problem with my renders, they aren't appearing as they do in the viewport.

My object is completely transparent, and should be invisible, as it looks in the viewport, but when it renders, the transparent object leaves some artifacts on the image plane containing my video..

Heres some screen shots.

The top half should not be visible, and you should be able his face.


Both are set to be completely transparent, but its distorting my image plane's video source.


Basically in the video, the top and bottom half of the prism surrounding him (made of 2 pyramids) at various times during the animation fading out, disappearing a re-appearing.
with no transparency, it looks fine.


Anyone know what the solution to this problem might be? My project is due monday so I have to solve it this weekend. And the next time I see my teacher it'll be too late.

I've tried fiddling with all of the render settings, in all 3 render modes (mental ray, maya hardware, maya software) every switch, checkbox, and slider, (individually) then re-rendered, and still it comes out strange.... I just want it to look like it does in the viewport! I hope someone can help solve this frustration..

Thanks in advance!
  Reply with quote
27-11-2010, 01:02 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Im not expert but I think it the reflectivity needs to be turned down in the shader.............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
27-11-2010, 10:03 PM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Yeah it looks like a specualar reflection.

Also why have you got this guy on an image plane?? Personally I would have projected him on a poly plane as a texture, as judging the fact he is cut out its obviously a 32 bit alpha. Image planes can cause probs too when rendering as you often need to just turn them off before rendering

cheers

Jay
  Reply with quote
28-11-2010, 05:19 AM   #4
Nilla
Administrator
 
Nilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prague
Posts: 812
I just wanted to say that I've also ran into a lot of problems with rendering when I've tried to use camera based image planes so I aviod them as well. I've noticed they're in a lot of beginner books, I don't really get why.

Try setting up geometry based image planes instead, there's a tutorial in the free section http://www.simply3dworld.com/movie_p...html?tut_id=64 if you need some help with it.

Hope the project goes well,
Nilla
  Reply with quote
28-11-2010, 03:58 PM   #5
Listern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Oh, sorry, my lack of proper maya terminology has me at a loss.

I did not use an image plane. It's actually a polyplane, with a lambert material, which has the IFF sequence as it's color.

So its a flat polyplane, not image plane.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trouble opening maya scene jooleyinboots Maya Technical Issues 2 03-02-2014 09:11 PM
Win8 Rendering issue maya 2012 t500yo Maya Technical Issues 2 16-04-2013 10:52 AM
trouble starting maya 2009 Typh Maya Technical Issues 2 03-01-2010 08:33 AM
Rendering in Maya DefLep Lighting & Rendering 18 28-09-2002 01:15 AM
Using Maya for Photorealistic rendering badbunny Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 14-09-2002 06:41 PM