SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Materials & Textures / UV Map size? How big can you go?

Maya Materials & Textures Shaders, Textures & UV Layout

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
15-05-2005, 04:39 AM   #1
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
UV Map size? How big can you go?
I know I can UV Map using image sizes of 512x512, 1024x1024, 2048x2048, but is it possible to go larger? for example if you wanted even more detail for close up shots?

If I type in a figure larger than 2048 maya changes the image size back to 2048 x 2048.

Thanks
Paul
  Reply with quote
17-05-2005, 02:12 PM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
just resize it in PS.
its just there for reference, it will not affect the actual texture.
u can resize to whatever rez u need
__________________
Image dump
  Reply with quote
17-05-2005, 08:34 PM   #3
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks Man
  Reply with quote
07-06-2005, 08:26 PM   #4
Renderizer
Subscriber
 
Renderizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
Hmmm...I guess by now it's too late for this tip, but here it goes anway, right down and dirty:

First, close Maya, if it happens to be running.

Then you'll need to find a MEL script called 'performUVSnapshot.mel' (should be somewhere here: [Program Path Dir]\Alias\scripts\others) and copy it to your scripts folder (eg. my documents\maya6.0\scripts). Maya will give these scripts prioity over those found in Maya's install dir, so you can keep it for later use, just in case you have to reinstall Maya (beware!).

Now open it in textpad.

Look for these lines:

int $kPLEMaxX = 2048;
int $kPLEMaxY = 2048;

Simply change the 2048 to the your desired value (I set mine to 4096), save the script and restart Maya. Select your geometry, call the UV Snapshot window and set the resolution to your heart's content. Voila!


Easy enough.
__________________
Subdivide and conquer!

Free your mind, and your ass will follow!
  Reply with quote
07-06-2005, 09:13 PM   #5
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Never too late

Thanks I will give it a go. I think if I go to around 4096, that should be enough to give me the detail I want in my spitfire.

Thanks Again.
  Reply with quote
07-06-2005, 09:17 PM   #6
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Hey Renderizer,
Great tip! You should post that in the Tips & Tricks thread in Maya Chat.
Thanks.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
  Reply with quote
07-06-2005, 09:33 PM   #7
Renderizer
Subscriber
 
Renderizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally posted by mhcannon
Hey Renderizer,
Great tip! You should post that in the Tips & Tricks thread in Maya Chat.
Thanks.
Hehe...the fun part about this tip is that I encountered the very same problem just two hours ago. Went looking for some help on the web, but couldn't find any (at least I stumbled accross this thread and made a mental note [or should I say mental node?] to come back here later, in case I managed to solve the problem).

After this I just tracked down the script with the aid of the Attribute Editor (remember 'Echo All History' is your best friend), looked for the appropriate values and changed them accordingly.

Never forget: (put on a solemn tone) a great deal of Maya's functionality is scripted in MEL, so there's almost always a way to get around any shortcomings. Amen.
__________________
Subdivide and conquer!

Free your mind, and your ass will follow!
  Reply with quote
07-06-2005, 10:28 PM   #8
Renderizer
Subscriber
 
Renderizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
mhcannon: I just did as you said and posted this at the tips&tricks thread.

Hope someone can make some use of it.
__________________
Subdivide and conquer!

Free your mind, and your ass will follow!
  Reply with quote
08-06-2005, 07:02 AM   #9
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Yeah, I saw, cool! You've already gotten one thanks there too. This will be very handy to those who use Maya for print work vice animation.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
  Reply with quote
08-06-2005, 08:08 AM   #10
Renderizer
Subscriber
 
Renderizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
Cool - glad to hear!
__________________
Subdivide and conquer!

Free your mind, and your ass will follow!
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model not following its UV Map - HELP! vizjerie Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 28-02-2014 09:21 PM
Importing the UV map back into Maya mrbassman Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 13-12-2013 05:58 PM
Bevel UV Map problem Kyuuji Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 12-03-2007 10:14 AM
Mr Uglies UV Map gazzamataz Maya Materials & Textures 1 12-02-2007 01:19 PM
UV map lost in UV Texture Editor fleetside Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 23-07-2005 10:08 AM