SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Wacom tablets and lacking support for dual diaplay setups.

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
06-03-2004, 01:19 PM   #1
Renderizer
Subscriber
 
Renderizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
Wacom tablets and lacking support for dual diaplay setups.
Hi all you Wacom users out there!



This post is especially for those of you who run a dual monitor setup in combination with a Wacom device.

If you do belong to this people, you have probably run into the fact that there is no fast and easy way to switch the tablet's mapping to another monitor.

Suggestions as to how to implement such a feature have been forwarded to Wacom for quite a long time now, but to no avail.

Wacom love to point out that the current driver structure (which dates back to '98) doesn't allow for such a feature.

Wacom stated that "It was definitely decided not to implement a button to toggle mapping, even so we basically find, that the idea is not bad."

There is a whole thread in the Wacom forum dedicated to this topic.

Go and have a looksee yourself at:http://www.wacom-europe.com/forum/to...=&TOPIC_ID=665

If you read the thread carefully and in it's entirety, you'll notice that it was started way back on 20/04/2002 - that's two years gone without any effect besides a lot of unnerved users.

Wacom says there are practically no users who run a dual display setup at all, which is definitely wrong these days, as I know from lots of specific threads on the CG boards.

All replys from Wacom do away with any suggestions in a pretty arrogant manner, and the tenor is: got two displays? buy another tablet!

The reason I'm posting all this is because I want you to go over to the Wacom site and post a request for some kind of 'toggle tablet mapping' feature.

Again, here's the link to the thread: http://www.wacom-europe.com/forum/to...=&TOPIC_ID=665

Please send your requests and/or suggestions also to support@wacom-europe.com to further broaden any possible impact.

After two years of 'we're not going to do that' some of us are pretty fed up...


Thank you for your support,


Renderizer (Mario)
__________________
Subdivide and conquer!

Free your mind, and your ass will follow!
  Reply with quote
06-03-2004, 07:14 PM   #2
Renderizer
Subscriber
 
Renderizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
Just to make things clear: you CAN, and by default actually DO map the tablet to both displays, there is no problem in that.

But: mapping the whole tablet to both displays not only effectively reduces the per-screen horizontal resolution (and hence the precision) but also distorts the aspect ratio of the screen/tablet relationship (shapes appear squashed horizontally).

Especially when doing real paintwork, this is rather annoying.

It would be nice to have a means to switch the mapped area to different monitors: the whole tablet is mapped to one single display, and with the use of a button (for example, you could use the Intuos' tabletbuttons for this) you switch the mapping to the 2nd monitor.
__________________
Subdivide and conquer!

Free your mind, and your ass will follow!
  Reply with quote