Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 23-03-2007 , 11:28 AM

My Farrai

Its been a fun project thanks simply maya for a excellent tutorial, I Still wanna play around with it more, maybe stick some big guns and missile launcher on her make it more my own but for now here it is.

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 24-03-2007 , 06:37 AM
Subscriber
nice

cant see any defects with the model but the paint is way too reflective for me

Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut https://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
# 3 24-03-2007 , 11:13 AM
Nice "Farrai".

Yes, too reflective, and the reflections looks fake due to the scene environment being black.

# 4 24-03-2007 , 12:19 PM
Thanx guys for the feedback, I have been using maya for about eight months and this was my first project rendering with mental ray. I am gonna spend a few days getting to know the basics and give rendering it another go.

get good or cry trying

# 5 01-04-2007 , 09:54 PM
Subscriber
yeah nice job man, looks pretty sweet though i gotta agree with everything djblazer said about the crititism... other than that well done,

wow it seem there have been alot of people attemping to do this ferrari tutorial which have only started maya and used it for a couple of months...

# 6 01-04-2007 , 10:00 PM
Senior Software Developer
One more thing that no one has mentioned is Caustics, I can see the circles of the caustics being sent by the light(s). I would turn this off and just leave the HDRI to do it all. Maybe a single light to help out the illumination but thats it really. Use FG and GI and leave the caustics out.

Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
# 7 03-04-2007 , 04:14 PM