Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 11-04-2007 , 04:46 AM
Subscriber

First car - Dodge Viper WIP

This is my first attempt at modeling a car I've wanted to do one for a while but couldn't think of a car I'd like to do. I found a bluprint of a Viper RT-10 on the-blueprints.com and decided this would be a fun car. I couldn't figure out how to model it or how to get it started so I jumped on the trusty internet and downloaded the car tutorial from simplymaya and have been using that as a guide. This is, I hate say, my progress today, about 3-4 good hours of going back and forth between the tutorial and the modeling.

any comments or advice would be great.

user added image
user added image
user added image

# 2 11-04-2007 , 08:35 AM
Subscriber
after doing a little picture hunting on the car, i think I might change up my hood and body style a little bit, I don't like the backwards opening hood. The only problem I have with the blueprints I just got is that there is just side, front, and back, no top view.

# 3 11-04-2007 , 10:54 AM
Subscriber
its looking good , are you working on both sides of the car ? or did u mirror it b4 u took a picture?. im not sure what model of the viper your modeling so i cant realy comment on its curves, the gaps between bodyparts look alittle big to me,
then again i think mine are the same lol, keep it up tho man its looking good

*edit
ok you did say the model of the car my bad lol

the arches at the front look as they go outa little then curve right in , the hood looks like its the front fender aswell but you said you changed it so it was like a normal hood so i cant comment on that lol.

anychance of a smoothed shot without wireframe on ?

Last edited by Sicky; 11-04-2007 at 11:01 AM.
# 4 11-04-2007 , 06:20 PM
Hi