SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Extrude tool broken

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
06-05-2020, 02:57 PM   #1
shadowPuppet5
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Extrude tool broken
I have been working in Maya since it was Power Animator, 20 plus years so this is NOT a user error. Last time I used Maya (2014, yesterday) everything was fine. But today the extrude tool is totally busted. I can't extrude faces or edges. When I try to extrude edge ,nothing happens I try to drag what would be the extruded edge and all I do is drag the edge. When I try to extrude a face on a cube, it extrudes as I see the edges now have extra blue little squares for the new faces created, but if I drag the face, the selected face remains and just the edges move
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	broke.png
Views:	207
Size:	121.2 KB
ID:	58017  
  Reply with quote
07-05-2020, 08:50 AM   #2
Nilla
Administrator
 
Nilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prague
Posts: 815
I have never seen anything quite like this and iv'e also been using Maya for a while. The only thing that comes close is last year Maya started doing invisible extrudes, the newley created faces would only show after I refreshed viewport 2. It turned out my gfx card driver had updated and broken the compatibility with Maya.

If you figure this out let us know please I,d be interested to see what caused it
  Reply with quote
07-05-2020, 10:17 PM   #3
shadowPuppet5
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
didn't figure it out. Went into the options and played with everything and the best I could get is that after the extrude it translates the extruded face or edge "out" in some direction. From there I can move it normally like I am use to. Problem is in extruding multiple edges or faces making things kind of cluttered on screen. I Decided to go back to Maya2013. I used that for many years until ,suddenly, my right mouse button on the marking menu failed. In the edit marking menu box there is a "test" button and it worked there, but in the app what came up was something else. Anyway, went back to that to see if I could fix that ( again) but nothing seemed to fix it and I thought that worse than my extrude problem ( I do more animation than modeling) so went back to 2014. Perhaps time to upgrade again or do a reinstall
  Reply with quote
Reply

Tags
extrude tool

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
extrude tool problem in maya 2011 ferdane Maya Technical Issues 3 13-04-2015 01:11 PM
extrude tool issue = manipulator gone, need it back kreativ Maya Technical Issues 1 12-08-2014 03:02 PM
Dissapearing extrude tool Dutch_Can Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 11-08-2010 11:19 PM
extrude move tool ulujm Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 17-02-2009 09:35 PM
My extrude tool is not showing up. Shadeblade Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 30-09-2005 07:08 PM