Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 28-03-2006 , 11:08 AM
ade90054's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143

saving as COPY????

Hi all,

Does anybody know of a way to do a "save as copy" much like photoshop does, I want to be able to save my current scene out as a differnt name (like a temp scene name) but remain in the scene i'm actually working in, then when i'm happy with everything I can commit to saving with the final scene name.

Any help would be great, cheers

Jim


"1.21 GIGAWATTS"
# 2 29-03-2006 , 09:30 AM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
I just knocked this up for you. You could always look into maya's own incremental save options aswell.

user added image
A

global proc string saveTmpFile()
{
string $currentname = `file -q -exn`;
//have some way of creating a temp name here incremental would be better
int $rnd = rand(1000, 9999);
string $tempName = `substitute "\.ma" $currentname ("_" + $rnd + "_tmp.ma")`;

//save as the neew temp name
file -rename $tempName;
file -f -save -options "v=0" -type "mayaAscii";

//rename back to our initial name
file -rename $currentname;

return($tempName);
}


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads