SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / try at 3Ds Max

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
02-01-2006, 06:17 PM   #1
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
try at 3Ds Max
hi, i just got 3Ds Max and i really like it. it can be a litle confusing sometimes when you change from a program to another but its a really nice prog.

i just wanted to know how FinalGather in maya is called in 3Ds Max.

btw, i heard that 3Ds Max is the most powerful prog. in the 3d industri.someone said to me that you have to know 3Ds Max if you want to make a career in the industri of 3d, he said that its just like photoshop,if you want to make a career in the 2d art, they dont care if you perfectly know painter.you need to know photoshop.is that true.
hope you know what i mean.
  Reply with quote
02-01-2006, 06:46 PM   #2
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
For games now its 3ds max. For films now its Maya. And FG is called in Max also Final Gather
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
  Reply with quote
02-01-2006, 07:00 PM   #3
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
thanx
  Reply with quote
02-01-2006, 07:02 PM   #4
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
King Kong has been made in maya?
  Reply with quote
02-01-2006, 07:54 PM   #5
pixelsoul
Subscriber
 
pixelsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 307
A tool is a tool... and if its xsi, maya or max doesn't really matter as long as you get the result.
  Reply with quote
03-01-2006, 07:45 AM   #6
Pyrus
Subscriber
 
Pyrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fries Fries Fries
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally posted by mc-fleury
King Kong has been made in maya?
Yups :bandit:
If i'm not wrong , ALIAS has a partnership agreement with WETA digital.Since the early beginning around the year 1995, they've been using MAYA more and more. From Heavenly creatures until Kong.

Quote:
Originally posted by pixelsoul
A tool is a tool... and if its xsi, maya or max doesn't really matter as long as you get the result.
That's the answer for which one I would add a vote
Use what you like Mc-F. And don't really think one is for Games and the other for Films. They both can endorse thoroughly the tasks needed, with totally different workflows, disadvantages and advantages.
At a time, I was said that the choice was relative to the continent. Like XSI for ASIA, MAX for Europe and Maya for USA. But as you prolly will notice, it's mainly depending on productions studios CHOICE and nothing else. Some other tools are also used, lets not forget them. Maxon Cinema4D was used to produce "North Pole XPress", while the studios first thought about Maya, the production deadlines were exploded when they decided switching on C4D to increase productivity. So, you see, CHOICE. FF-The Spirits Within was fully produced with XSI I think. So, now, what will ya choose ? :attn:

I personaly switched C4D >> Maya, as I wanted the tool for VG production/integration (also because applying with C4D as main tool is a bit frustrating). And I must say here in Belgium, films are tought on MAX , and VG industry is tought on Maya (but in both cases, schools let students use the tool they prefer << and that's really intelligent isn't it ?).

Last edited by Pyrus; 03-01-2006 at 07:59 AM.
  Reply with quote
03-01-2006, 11:26 PM   #7
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
can we create hair and fur in max as maya do.
  Reply with quote
04-01-2006, 01:34 PM   #8
Tiago2
Subscriber
 
Tiago2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 132
I'm not to familier with maya that much but if u are using '3ds max 8' then u can add a 'hair n fur' modifier to the object you want to put hair in. That will get u started.

Any other version of max, asside from 7.5, there is no hair or fur built in.
__________________
<a href="http://forum.simplymax.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=11595">Click</a> Desert Eagle
<a href="http://forum.simplymax.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=4250#post4250">Click</a> Gas Lantern
<a href="http://forum.simplymax.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=11714">Click</a> Gas Lantern

Last edited by Tiago2; 04-01-2006 at 01:39 PM.
  Reply with quote
04-01-2006, 05:42 PM   #9
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
thanx!
  Reply with quote
05-01-2006, 04:13 AM   #10
A_A_68
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by MattTheMan
For games now its 3ds max. For films now its Maya. And FG is called in Max also Final Gather
what is FG?
  Reply with quote
05-01-2006, 10:41 AM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Final gather ina very simple term is a way of faking global illumination, like the light from outside lights an object.
  Reply with quote
06-01-2006, 04:49 AM   #12
vasvaas
Registered User
 
vasvaas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 118
Maya is more powerful than max. max is used more coz its cheap. << ma teacher told me. he's a visual effects supervisor.
__________________
Yo mamma!
  Reply with quote
06-01-2006, 06:34 PM   #13
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Not neccessarily, Maya is not stronger. Max has far better spline modeling tools. And what the f***, Max is cheaper? $3000 US. Now, you dont HAVE to have all of the Maya Cloth and Fur and whatever crap... you can do all that... addmittedly takes more time, but you can do it in maya particles amd stuff. I can simulate with soft bodies as cloth so much better than I can do so with actual Maya Cloth. :angery: So. And for fur, you can use the Shave and Cut program that is... well FREE. And you can make polygon hair.

3ds Max 8 - $3000
Maya Complete - $2000
Maya Unlimited - $7100

Max is one of the most Expensive programs out there!

XSI Foundations - $500
Cinema 4D - $600
Lightwave 3D - $750
3ds Max 8 - $3000

Alright?
sorry for ranting... i dont mean to offend. So if I offend you... then sorry
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
  Reply with quote
06-01-2006, 06:57 PM   #14
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
thanx matt!

i would like to know how split polygone tool is called in max and were can i find it?

btw, maya ulimited is 5100$ more expensive than maya complete because it has maya fur and maya cloth,and i dont know if LIVE is in both maya ulmitd and maya compl.?
  Reply with quote
07-01-2006, 04:10 AM   #15
vasvaas
Registered User
 
vasvaas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 118
I got maya Unlimited for just $2.30. and nothin to worry. :p
__________________
Yo mamma!
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inset option in poly modeling in Maya like 3Ds Max ? clicksubhendu Maya Modeling 5 30-07-2009 04:59 PM
3DS Max less features? Altadena Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 11-12-2007 05:42 PM
converting 3ds max to maya/maya to 3ds max dimitar Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 03-07-2007 12:05 AM
3ds max to Maya? M Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 27-01-2003 09:06 PM
about 3ds max and maya herryswastika Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 16-09-2002 02:01 PM