SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Is Photoshop needed to learn Maya?

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
13-01-2003, 05:34 AM   #1
ChaoticMindz
Registered User
 
ChaoticMindz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California
Posts: 7
Is Photoshop needed to learn Maya?
Hellooooo Everyone, just registered, and I wanted to know from all the experianced MAYA users out there...Is learning photoshop vital to mastering MAYA? My friend told me about getting started with maya, and to leave 3dsmax, and i must admit, MAYA seems to be a whole lot simpler, but its damn powerful, and I dropped 3dsmax in a heart beat, though i am not saying its bad, I perfer Maya over it. Does photoshop interact at all with MAYA, as in touch up here and such, or does maya provide all you need? Thanks
__________________
I gave my love a chicken, it had not bones...Mmmmm, chicken.
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 05:54 AM   #2
mark_wilkins
Registered User
 
mark_wilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 161
well, you can open the images you render in Photoshop and change them...

or you can paint textures in Photoshop...

what are you getting at?

-- Mark
__________________
Mark R. Wilkins
author of MEL Scripting for Maya Animators
www.melscripting.com
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 06:21 AM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
If you want to really have nice textures, Photoshop is generally the best program to use.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 07:09 AM   #4
nirsul
Subscriber
 
nirsul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 437
contrary to popular belief - there are programs much cheaper that will do most of the stuff better and most will read all or part of the wealth of plugins

I , for one, use PhotoImpact (costs 90-100 U$ and is much more comfortable to use

Nir
__________________
Nir Sullam
Architectural Visualizations Page: www.orvatsel.com/index2.html
Maya Page: www.orvatsel.com/maya
www.nirsullam.com
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 07:18 AM   #5
ChaoticMindz
Registered User
 
ChaoticMindz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California
Posts: 7
mark_wilkins: You know how you use other programs, Bryce, 3dsmax, and so on, you usually finish your project, then import the image to Photoshop to add things here and there, I was asking if that is necessary with maya?
__________________
I gave my love a chicken, it had not bones...Mmmmm, chicken.
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 08:32 AM   #6
mark_wilkins
Registered User
 
mark_wilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 161
PhotoImpact is probably a fine product but it doesn't come close to the full version of Photoshop in its range of capabilities, particularly if you're looking for more advanced features like CMYK separation, good control over color management, and so on. As for being more "comfortable to use," I suppose it would be if you were more used to it than Photoshop.

For the original poster: Maya doesn't have any particular integration with Photoshop, but Photoshop can read and edit the images Maya generates.

However, since I'm more often doing animation with Maya than still images, I would normally work with my renders in After Effects or Shake rather than Photoshop.

-- Mark
__________________
Mark R. Wilkins
author of MEL Scripting for Maya Animators
www.melscripting.com
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 08:58 AM   #7
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Depends on what you want to do with maya - if you just want to learn character animation then you can get by without touching an image editing app.
Obvisouly if you want to become a texture artist or make pretty stills then such an app is a must.
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 09:29 AM   #8
mark_wilkins
Registered User
 
mark_wilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 161
One other thing: remember that whether you're working in motion or with stills, certain rendering glitches can be MUCH easier to touch up with a paint package than by fixing them in 3D.

-- Mark
__________________
Mark R. Wilkins
author of MEL Scripting for Maya Animators
www.melscripting.com
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 11:08 AM   #9
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
One often overlooked, powerful and free image manipulation software is The Gimp. I have run it on Linux but you can get a Windows version too.

Official homepage: http://www.gimp.org/
Windows installer: http://www2.arnes.si/~sopjsimo/gimp/
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 01:58 PM   #10
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
another app that deserves a mention is Paint Shop Pro - can be had for about 60 and has many of the features of photoshop. interface is a little bland, but it gets the job done
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 02:33 PM   #11
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Well, i use PHOTOSHOP, for all my image manipulation! For me its the best program for every types of images! Ive worked images with 1.2Gb, and Photoshop did ok!:bgreen:
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 04:24 PM   #12
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
yes i use photoshop, but to be honest, it doesnt play a big part at all in my 3d, i just use it to design 2d images

to answer the title of the thread, no, its not needed at all, you can create textures in paint (ive seen ppl do this and it looks pretty good as well wen used with mayas bump mapping etc)
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 05:00 PM   #13
Kevin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I use it all the time with maya... so for me ..yes its essential.

But.... you can create all you need in maya, but I use photoshop all the time
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 05:13 PM   #14
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
I agree with Kev

Same here....

However, "practice" is what will make you a master(ish) of Maya, not a particular 2d editing app.

I use PS for raster texture work, still compositing, sprite texture work, and in some cases, xyz reflection mapping accuracy.

It's just what I'm comfortable with
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
13-01-2003, 11:04 PM   #15
ChaoticMindz
Registered User
 
ChaoticMindz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California
Posts: 7
Are there any specific steps to take in order to learn maya? Or is it just the: take time to understand the configuration of maya, learn what the selections do, experiment, tutorials, then create. Also, if I have little or no artistic talent, should I take a couple of drawing classes? or no experiance is necessary?
__________________
I gave my love a chicken, it had not bones...Mmmmm, chicken.
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am programmer,also my writing good, but my drawing extremely bad. Do I learn maya? nobodyisthere Animation 1 12-12-2015 07:17 PM
Maya 2015 Error loading scene Awad96 Maya Technical Issues 5 05-09-2015 03:24 PM
Can't batch render more than two frames! lvuorenvirta Lighting & Rendering 2 15-05-2015 09:51 AM
Maya Not Loading on Virtual Machine drgraphics Maya Technical Issues 2 31-01-2010 09:33 PM
Photoshop and TGA files from Maya BMS Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 19-07-2005 10:02 PM