SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Viewports driving me crazy!

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
23-07-2009, 10:26 AM   #1
VertexParadigm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Viewports driving me crazy!
Ahh I'm being so stupid but I can't work out how to reset my viewports..

For some reason my top 2 viewports are imitating each other, if I change one to top, they both change to top, if I change one to pers, they both go to pers!

How do I simply reset my viewports to default?
  Reply with quote
23-07-2009, 11:09 AM   #2
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,515
Any screenshots? It could be that you switched the top panels to look through the same camera, sometimes it's something silly like that.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
23-07-2009, 11:14 AM   #3
VertexParadigm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Doubt this will help?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	female_body_1.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	119.9 KB
ID:	42709  
  Reply with quote
23-07-2009, 11:21 AM   #4
VertexParadigm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Lmao!!
I just figured it out COMPLETELY by accident.

I accidentally held space bar and click and that lets me change the viewport to top/front/whatever

Yay
  Reply with quote
23-07-2009, 11:24 AM   #5
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,515
Actually its exactly as I thought, you have the two top panels looking though the same camera, you need to change one of them to a camera that's not in use, in this case the perspective camera, or you're just going to run into this problem again. Though for some reason you're getting a perspective angle through and ortho camera, I don't use the viewcube but I suspect that is what changed an otherwise orthographic view to a perspective angle.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	162.5 KB
ID:	42710  
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
23-07-2009, 11:26 AM   #6
VertexParadigm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks Genny
Actually I don't use the viewcube, I hate the thing.

You know you hold Alt and Left Click to tumble?

Well I accidentally held Space and Left Click which changed it!

Thank you for your help
  Reply with quote
23-07-2009, 11:45 AM   #7
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,515
I know there's a way to get a persp angle through an ortho camera but I just can't remember how lol aaah now that's going to bug me into testing it. Anyways, happy modeling
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge loops and smoothing driving me crazy! bart95 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 07-10-2015 09:51 PM
simple nparticles rising up, driving me crazy! nickynacky Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 24-10-2014 04:48 PM
This is driving me crazy. roontoon Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 19-02-2010 06:29 PM
Joint problem - translation axis - driving me crazy Turbo Dan Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 11-05-2009 04:38 AM
Driving me Crazy! Please Help! phalcon Maya Modeling 4 08-03-2003 08:50 PM