SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2015, 01:12 PM   #1
sampson01
Subscriber
 
sampson01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Williamson, WV
Posts: 117
Thanks: 14
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Default Headus UV Layout back to Maya 2015

I have a character in a scene that I will eventually rig and animate. I exported this model and saved it in the assets folder of my project. This is where I actually finished modeling it (not sure if that's the right thing to do...) Anyway, I imported this model into headus uv layout as an .obj. After flattening it I chose "send" to export it back to maya. Maya didn't see it. I was frustrated especially because now in maya when I would drag the marquee in the persp viewport, I would get a black screen. Yes, I could just click again and the screen would come back but... So I opened another model to see if maya was corrupted. Not so, and I also discovered that I needed to have UV's for my mesh BEFORE I send it to headus in order for maya to "see" the new UVs. My question is, has anyone experienced any of these issues and also what is the correct workflow for maya to headus and back?
__________________
Sampson
sampson01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 06:55 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,493
Thanks: 15
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Honestly, I don't have much faith in some of these one click interoperability features. I just create in and out folders and dump files in them accordingly.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2015, 08:01 AM   #3
rberchin
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Couple of things: first, unless you use the headus uv layout maya plugin to send your object to headus then sending back to maya isn't going to work. If you export the .obj file and then import it to headus, you're going to have to save it back to maya and import that obj file into maya and use transfer attributes to move the new uv layout to the original object. If you use the plugin and run headus directly from maya the whole process is seamless, ans has worked beautifully for me every time. Second, I have experienced the black screen you describe (I'm in maya 2016). It's happened to me a few times, but not often. I found that quitting and restarting always corrects the problem.
rberchin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rberchin For This Useful Post:
sampson01 (22-06-2015)
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UV problem in maya 2015 jenkins3632 Technical Issues 1 20-11-2014 09:06 PM
Finally finished uni now back to maya silverspawn Finished Work 1 22-10-2013 04:04 AM
Can't Put My Uv Texture Back on my Model nikesh Technical Issues 4 22-02-2013 08:45 AM
First time in Maya in 5 years. ckyuk Work In Progress 12 29-10-2012 05:11 AM
UV layout question Rhetoric Camel Maya Materials & Textures 2 20-12-2010 02:38 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.