SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lighting & Rendering, Dynamics & Effects, Texturing / Dynamics & Special Effects / Reproducible 2016.5 nCache missing frame issue
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2016, 05:16 PM   #1
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Default Reproducible 2016.5 nCache missing frame issue

Could someone please try to reproduce this issue? I am planning to file a bug, but we know Autodesk isn't fantastic about following up.
In 2016.5:
1. Create a very simple nParticle emitter
2. Emit a few spherical particles over 100 to 200 frames
3. cache the nParticles
4. Play back carefully the nCache and watch for frames that are repeated, followed by a jump. Essentially certain frames are being read as duplicates.

If you do see this issue can you let me know:
a) Which frames you see it on?
b) Any idea what might be causing the issue?

I've had this problem across multiple computers, projects, scenarios etc. etc.

This is problem with READING the cache data, because if you open the same file with cache in 2016, it plays fine. Similarly, we've had files created (and cached) in 2016, that manifest the particle bug in 2016.5.

I don't have time to go through every project I can get my hands on that uses nParticles, but I haven't found one yet that didn't have this frame issue, given enough frames.

Thanks!
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 08:28 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Default

We've developed a workaround that involves changing the scale of the cache to 1.0001, which seems to resolve the issue, and should only change the simulation frame after 10000 frames, presumably.
It appears this is a rounding error? Or some kind of imprecision in the data, which is strange because the problem frames don't seem to come up evenly and are dependent on the scene/simulation.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I have a command that sets the playback min frame to the current frame? Saijee Mel Scripts & Programming 8 31-12-2014 07:58 PM
Crash when painting weights Krazypoe Technical Issues 0 07-12-2014 11:58 PM
Missing shadows on a particular frame Calvin Mental Ray 1 05-11-2014 11:19 AM
Mental Ray crashing scene? JustMcCollum Technical Issues 7 10-05-2013 05:15 PM
Maya File error Ozgalis Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 11-04-2013 03:39 AM