SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / maya 5.0 .3ds import

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
27-06-2003, 07:59 PM   #1
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
maya 5.0 .3ds import
Hey, Though I do not own a copy of maya 5.0, I was wondering if it had .3ds import included with it, because i did not see a plugin for it on the alias website. Is there a plugin for maya 5.0 to import 3ds files, and if so, where is it. Or is it just a built in feature.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
  Reply with quote
28-06-2003, 08:38 AM   #2
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
it is no built in feature - you need a plugin for 3ds import.

there is a plugin on a|w site for 3ds import. right now not yet for maya 5.0 - but i am sure they are going to update that for 5.0.

also possible would be a plugin for max that exports maya - or a external converter that converts form 3ds to maya.
  Reply with quote
28-06-2003, 02:41 PM   #3
haflo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 1
Hi. I just started learning maya so it may sound stupid. Why use 3d max and maya ? From what i saw maya is better then 3d max. Why not work only with maya ?
  Reply with quote
28-06-2003, 05:16 PM   #4
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
maya is not overall better than max - not in every aspect. both have advantages and disadvantages. and importing 3ds models does not mean that you created them yourself
  Reply with quote
28-06-2003, 08:33 PM   #5
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Good point. Ok, I was just wandering.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya 2016 doesn't import scenes properly Ruwenzori Maya Technical Issues 2 14-03-2016 04:15 PM
Maya 5.0 Savnac Maya Technical Issues 2 05-01-2009 01:24 PM
obj import in maya PLE beskow Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 17-04-2008 07:13 PM
Maya 5.0 PLE Scraggy_Dogg Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 15-09-2003 10:21 PM
Error with Maya 5.0 wuthoqquan Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 26-05-2003 10:51 AM