Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 06-03-2006 , 10:13 PM

Joint orientation Script

Hey guys I found a great script, some of you may have heard of it.

jsOrientJointUI

It is for joint orientation and I hear it is very helpful.

Well I need some help, I am not sure if anyone can answer this but I am new with MEL scripts and I have gotten them to work before, but for some reason I cant get this one to work. I have it in my scripts folder but when I try to type in jsOrientJointUI in the command line it says "Error: Cannot find procedure jsOrientJointUI"

Any ideas? Thanks so much guys. I am held up on a project because I can't figure out this script! Also if anyone knows of any good tutorials or easy ways to orient joints, that would be great!

# 2 06-03-2006 , 11:18 PM
Subscriber
u need to source tghe script first.
or restart maya
after install

# 3 07-03-2006 , 03:46 AM
I appreciate your reply.

I did restart maya but it still didnt work. I have not sourced the script, how would I go about that?

Thanks a ton.

# 4 07-03-2006 , 04:18 AM
Make sure you are typing in the procedure as it appears, i.e., it is case sensitive. For me, If I ever have any doubt as to wether I am typing it correctly, I go to explorer and just copy the file name from there.

Also, if the procedure requires parameters, it will not run without them.

If you restarted Maya, you should not need to source the script.

To do so though, you go into the script editor, Click on

file>source script, then find the file you want to source and click "Open".