Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 25-09-2007 , 11:46 AM

Maya into Flash Web Game

Hi all,

Ive been working on something a little different to the rendered work often shown here and maybe it is of interest to some.

Ive been experimenting with a workflow consisting of low polygon maya model -> collada export -> adobe flash for rendering directly onto a web page.

Flash 3D is fairly new, you may well of seen web 3D but flash is pretty unique in its penetration which runs at about 99% of all net connected PC's.

To enable this i've been using a couple of tools, first the Maya collada plug in form feeling software ( https://www.feelingsoftware.com/content/view/55/72 )

Secondly, for rendering, the open source 3d API papervision ( https://www.papervision3d.org/ )

Finally, im no modeler, im a web developer by trade so have been taking this time to slowly get to grips with Maya, but I would describe my skills as very Amature , however im keen to carry on learning now i ve learnt the basic UI elements.

The game ive produced while learning is a simpe space invaders clone, with 3D elements hopefully fairly subtly added, is on line at https://www.99lives.co.uk/InvadersIV/ (please note you need flash 9 to view - if you see nothing thats probably why)

If you dont care for the game element - i have a simple end sequnce animation here (note no loader on this so be patient - engine is 256k and collada is 150k)

https://www.99lives.co.uk/InvadersIV/moon.html

If anyone is interested in more details about showing maya models live on the web in this method please feel free to ask - as its certainly an area i feel i can contribute back to this community about.

# 2 25-09-2007 , 09:29 PM
Thats nice peSK user added image

I was playing about with papervision3D a few months ago. I created a planet and a moon which orbited about it in 3D.