SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / grouping in maya vs shocwave

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
18-07-2006, 12:02 AM   #1
junkyBob
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 203
grouping in maya vs shocwave
If anybody rembers awhile ago, I had mentioned that I am building a racing game which will be played on the shockwave3D engine. My problem that I now know why I sometimes have problems exporting to shockwave, is because Maya does not collapse the groups as one grouped object, meaning in Director all of the objects that are in the group can still be accessed in Director which is not a true group. A true group in Director means that you can only access the grouped object and the objects are not manipulatable. This is very important for shockwave when you need your objects as groups rather than parented because in shocwave, animations and using the Havok physics engine both like to have their objects grouped together rather than parented. For example, lets say you built a car where the doors are seperate from the chassis. Now in order for the Havok physics engine to move both the doors and the chassis together, these two seperate objects must be grouped as one object. In addition, people have found out that the Havok physics engine can crash if the objects are parented rather than grouped. So I wanted to know if anyone was ever successful in collapsing groups so that they are counted as one whole object, and if so, how did you get this to work?
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Reading File... HELP ME PLEASE roryfollansbee Challenge Forum 1 16-04-2016 09:00 AM
maya 2008 mirek03 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 13 25-08-2007 05:06 AM
I install Maya 8.0 Mac not compleate...Cause Maya Core 8.0 can't choose be install.. likhi1 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 23-01-2007 11:36 AM
Use Maya For Game... Why Maya? Triple-x Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 14 02-09-2005 09:07 PM
Maya vs. 3DS, Light Wave, Rhino ino ect... THX1138 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 45 17-09-2003 02:09 PM