Welcome to the SimplyMaya community

Welcome back to SimplyMaya.

Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
# 1 30-12-2007, 09:10 AM
tadpole3159's Avatar
tadpole3159
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191

global illumination not working

i am following this interior lighting in mental ray tutorial
http://www.treddi.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=8436
it's quite good so far
well now Iím at the point where I have to turn on global illumination so I did, but there is no difference at all between the render with out global illumination and the render with it. its just not working, whatís going on?

I have attached the image with global illumination enabled

whats going on?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	global illumination enabled.jpg
Views:	257
Size:	18.3 KB
ID:	37800  

I love maya
# 2 30-12-2007, 01:34 PM
jsprogg's Avatar
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,712
I believe section 1.2.1 Sunlight of the tutorial covers this.

ok you have to emit photons to have global illimination so whatever your light souce is you have to select it and go to the attribute editor and under the Mental Ray tab check on Emit Photons, you may have to tweek the amount of photons to get the desired result so this can envolve a bit of time and many check renders.
If you do not have any Lights you can create one and have it emit photons only by turning off it's intensity.




2 x Modeling Challenge Winner

Last edited by jsprogg; 30-12-2007 at 01:37 PM.
# 3 30-12-2007, 06:55 PM
tadpole3159's Avatar
tadpole3159
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191

Originally posted by jsprogg
I believe section 1.2.1 Sunlight of the tutorial covers this.

ok you have to emit photons to have global illimination so whatever your light souce is you have to select it and go to the attribute editor and under the Mental Ray tab check on Emit Photons, you may have to tweek the amount of photons to get the desired result so this can envolve a bit of time and many check renders.
If you do not have any Lights you can create one and have it emit photons only by turning off it's intensity.

Originally Posted by
oh sorry i thought i said i had already done that, no matter how high i set the photons emited nothing was changing.
any more ideas?


I love maya
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off