SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Painting Weights - HELP!!

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
27-08-2007, 01:30 PM   #1
Damned Soul
Registered User
 
Damned Soul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 9
Painting Weights - HELP!!
Hi ppl

i'm a newby so please be lenient. this is my second attemp to get along with painting weights, first time didn't seem to do it right. i have a poly model, rigged and smooth-binded. by default, it naturally gets shitty binded so the next step is to paint the skin weights. when i started to do so, the first thing i've noticed is that not all of the bones are listed in the influence box in paint weights tool options(any idea why?!). ok, so how should i start to paint? is it possible to just correct the default painting or do i have to clear it all and paint from the beginning? every time i paint the influence of some bone, changes appear in other bones influences and parts of the model. tried the 'hold weights on selected'(what's it for and when to use it?) option but it's doing me no good as i get info that 'can't change the weights because of locked influences', it's driving me mad. i have no idea where to start and how to do it. any help would be really appreciated..
__________________
Damned Soul
  Reply with quote
30-08-2007, 05:55 AM   #2
gavsr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 6
Hi Dammned Soul

Not sure if this is going to be what you need but before skinning, select your mesh/skin and delete the history (Edit->Delete by type->History).

Then skin.

This nearly drove me nuts before I came across the solve

Cheers
  Reply with quote
06-09-2007, 12:47 PM   #3
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
how u goin bud
well what i usually do is is just use the replace paint option so in the paint weights attributes select that option so its more of a deleting what you dont want not adding new things about weights changing other weights this can happen when you leave an odd spot say uve deleted all of an area but just missed a tiny spot paint weight ing can be tedious but tak eit slow and be precise
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Painting weights stopped working PaperMoon Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 20-03-2011 12:00 PM
is there a trick to painting weights? Rhetoric Camel Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 18-11-2007 01:09 PM
Need help with Painting Weights missgreen16 Animation 0 08-04-2007 07:00 AM
Painting skin weights SpaceGoat Maya Technical Issues 0 15-06-2006 10:31 AM
Please help with Goal_PP Joselu I.B. Dynamics & Special Effects 6 24-04-2003 12:06 AM