SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Texture upload

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
21-01-2004, 04:35 PM   #1
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Texture upload
A long time ago I bought a game called Total Annihilation... a game that really rocked my world - because it was fully 3D and I played it night and day... Then I followed up on some forums and saw that you were able to create your own units.. so at that time I did not have access to a 3D program.... so with my modem 56k I ****** **** **** *** **** *** and created my own unit.

The problem is that I wanted to texture my unit with my own texture.. and at that time I did not know how and where to get good and simple seamless texture... so I started to brows the internet and grabb all the texture I can get..

So Now I have alot of textures on cd and would like to share so that future Maya users have all the items they want to create greate models with even greater texture.

The question is on what is the limit size to upload texture - I have approx 30 with texture files on them and would like to upload some texture
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
  Reply with quote
22-01-2004, 04:40 PM   #2
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
So I just (yesterday) uploaded the first package of textures, hope you all like them, I do .. they are great and seamless !
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
  Reply with quote
22-01-2004, 09:55 PM   #3
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Well another package of texture is uploaded and is approx 4.4 mb large (Zipped) and contains some weird texture files, all 256x256 large !
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
  Reply with quote
23-01-2004, 02:30 AM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks Protheus. Textures are always very useful.
  Reply with quote
23-01-2004, 05:56 AM   #5
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
where are they at? (i assume not up yet as it usually takes a bit)
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
  Reply with quote
23-01-2004, 09:37 AM   #6
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Theu should be up now... the second bash I will upload when I get home from work - If I ever get home ...
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
  Reply with quote
24-01-2004, 02:06 PM   #7
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
can you giveme a link to where they are?
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
  Reply with quote
24-01-2004, 03:32 PM   #8
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,154
http://www.simplymaya.com/download_pages/

Try that

or here http://www.simplymaya.com/

under latest 5 uploads.
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
  Reply with quote
24-01-2004, 04:03 PM   #9
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
ah thanks david. i see why i was confused. I was looking for hundreds of files... not one zip with a hundred in them. I guess that is more practicle. But it is 11am and i have been up for 21 hours
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
  Reply with quote
25-01-2004, 12:14 AM   #10
LSphinx
Registered User
 
LSphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 275
hey!!,.. AWESOME stuff!!!....
thanx a lot!
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to put many texture in one scene? Its all change to the one texture aonaon20 Maya Materials & Textures 3 08-03-2014 04:34 AM
Texture resolution: a never ending story lecra Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 24-12-2013 06:30 PM
Texture not working together with the UV texture editor Skalman Maya Materials & Textures 4 07-06-2013 08:08 PM
Texture placement LadySekhmet Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 01-04-2008 09:16 PM
Help with Tiling and Bump Mapping Brick Texture Geemge Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 19-01-2005 09:02 PM