SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / simple particles question about rendering
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-05-2005, 03:50 PM   #1
phredrek
Registered User
 
phredrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tokyo/Chiba - Japan
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question simple particles question about rendering

Hey everyone!
I've been away from Maya for two years and I've got this little problem that's bugging me.

the fire particles I've got aren't rendering.

I remember theres probably an easy solution like a checkbox has to be clicked or something turned on but I don't remember what it is. I've got some fire particles coming out of a few object emiters which I can see in my working/preview window but they don't render.
thanks for your time!

>Frederic.
phredrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 04:20 PM   #2
astrocalder
Registered User
 
astrocalder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

particles need to be rendered with the hardware render buffer (HRB). i assume you've used it before, but forgot about it after two years... i'm no pro but if you need help with it maybe i can walk you through it. you'll probably be able to figure it out though.
astrocalder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 09:18 PM   #3
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Not all particles need to be hardware rendered, Im positive that streak and i think blobby surface need to be, but I cant remember the rest.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 02:51 AM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

In the attribute Editor for the particle shape, under PARTICLE TYPE, the drop-down list should say (SW) next to the specific SoftWare particle types

Everything else is Hardware
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 05:28 AM   #5
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For Maya 6 -- Blobby Surface, Tubes, and Cloud are software, the rest are hardware (though there is a raytracer around which does everything software... but aparently it takes frick'n forever and its not a free raytracer)

For fire I'd probably use Cloud for the particle type anyway.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.