SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Maya 9.0 resets viewports

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
26-04-2011, 09:53 PM   #1
n88tr
Subscriber
 
n88tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 188
Maya 9.0 resets viewports


I've had this problem since I installed maya 9.0 unlim on my "new" asus laptop in March. When I hit spacebar to switch viewports all the other ones, 3, default to my previous view.

Say if I was working in perspective, when I spacebar out all the others are in perspective. I've put some back to Front, Top, but holding spacebar and mousemoving to the other views but that's the only way I can make a different view port. As soon as I exit one, all the others clone that viewport. So I'm manually switching viewports everytime I want a side or top, front view. Also, another strange thing is that once I get into a viewport like perspective, my objects disappear and I always need to hit F to frame the object back in the window.

Maybe there's a reset functions option somewhere? I've not messed with maya at all since then, so much trouble.

I got maya 2011 but am having trouble installing it so for now i'm stuck with 2009

Please help
__________________
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Benjamin Franklin
  Reply with quote
27-04-2011, 06:09 PM   #2
n88tr
Subscriber
 
n88tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 188
I went to window, pref, edit and reset. No help
Even renamed my default maya folder where it saves everything.
No help either

Upgrading to a newer version is looking like my only option. I've got client work piling up and this is not good

desperate here guys
__________________
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Benjamin Franklin
  Reply with quote
08-05-2011, 09:26 PM   #3
n88tr
Subscriber
 
n88tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 188
Bump.............
__________________
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Benjamin Franklin
  Reply with quote
13-05-2011, 12:11 PM   #4
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
It could be graphic driver issue. Are they up to date? Also depending on what card you have, you may need to create a rule to disable some features when Maya is running.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
15-05-2011, 11:32 PM   #5
n88tr
Subscriber
 
n88tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 188
Updated grahpics

solved it by updating to 2012 lol
__________________
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Benjamin Franklin
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Reading File... HELP ME PLEASE roryfollansbee Challenge Forum 1 16-04-2016 09:00 AM
Death Brain Maya Nurb Tutorials liesengthok Maya Modeling 1 21-10-2007 10:46 AM
maya 2008 mirek03 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 13 25-08-2007 05:06 AM
Quick question, Maya PLE to Maya JDigital Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 19-07-2005 08:00 PM
Maya vs. 3DS, Light Wave, Rhino ino ect... THX1138 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 45 17-09-2003 02:09 PM