Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 13-11-2003 , 12:23 AM

My First Head Model-of Me

Hey guys this is my first time showing some of my work. This is my first head model that I have been working on. C&C's please

Front View

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 13-11-2003 , 12:25 AM
Side View

Attached Thumbnails
# 3 13-11-2003 , 12:27 AM
Persp View

Attached Thumbnails
# 4 13-11-2003 , 04:34 AM
Its a little long. Front view looks kinda ok, but the side is definitely too wide.

Are you working from a photo reference scanned into Maya? Use an image plane to go by. Heads are one of the hardest things to model correctly without good references.

Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
# 5 13-11-2003 , 06:41 AM
Yeah i have been working from a photo scanned in. But now that you mention it, it does seem long, but maybe that's just my head in general. We took a front pic and side pic with digital cam's at the same time and then i lined them up in photoshop and put them on an image plane, so i don't know why it seems so long.

user added image

# 6 13-11-2003 , 03:35 PM
Subscriber
Note that photos are taken from a perspective and thus are not always accurate from an ortographic view (front, side). Trust your eye. That is what kbrown always tell me. Also note that hair often obstructs the shape of the skull, look at some anatomy stuff (tip. https://www.correct-proportion.com/).

Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=https://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
# 7 13-11-2003 , 05:17 PM
thanks for the tips guys

# 8 13-11-2003 , 06:40 PM