SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Mental Ray not working properly...

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
12-08-2006, 03:14 PM   #1
BRUTICUS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 27
Mental Ray not working properly...
for some reason I cannot see my final gather menu, I get a checkbox but that is it. My shaders are missing some mental ray settings aswell.

Anyone know what the problem could be? I'm stumped.

Here is a screenshot of what I get in the final gather menu, pretty empty huh? I've tried restarting and reinstalling...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	finalgath.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	30139  
__________________
Current WIP: <A HREF="http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=20529">Feng Zhu Concept: Junk Robot</A>
  Reply with quote
23-11-2006, 12:25 PM   #2
BRUTICUS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 27
Welp, 3 months later I found my issue. Maya doesn't like 128 bit fonts so I changed that in the Advanced Desktop properties to 96 or whatever and it was all good.

Same thing happened to someone else with an XPS .
__________________
Current WIP: <A HREF="http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=20529">Feng Zhu Concept: Junk Robot</A>
  Reply with quote
23-11-2006, 09:54 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
No way dude, I missed this thread.

Got my XPS M1710 a few months ago and had the same problem, I got the answer from CG talk via posting there, If I would have seen this thread I would have given you the answer, sorry mate.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What happened to the Mental Ray? SilverFeather Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 10 07-12-2011 12:13 AM
Mental ray not working after Vue6Xtreme uninstall gavsr Maya Technical Issues 0 07-04-2009 01:12 PM
I can't get Mental Ray Satellite Working trekg4 Maya Technical Issues 0 03-01-2009 04:55 AM
Why Maya? haka Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 21 10-11-2007 11:14 PM
mental ray stopped working. :( arran Lighting & Rendering 1 19-10-2007 07:15 AM