SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Looking For Kurt The Modeling Instructor

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
15-03-2008, 07:44 PM   #1
Savnac
Subscriber
 
Savnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Looking For Kurt The Modeling Instructor
Looking fro Kurt the Modeling instructor!!

I am about to purchase a few Maya tutorials from this site and I was instructed to locate Kurt, because of the version of Maya, that was used to create the models with from tutorial too tutorial. I think that the version that were used range from Maya 4-8.5, so you see I need to contact him because I know that I will have issues once I get these tutorials and start to model. As always if I get stuck I give up, but this time, I have you guys to bounce my issues off of to help out. I promise not to bug you all, but only if and when I get stuck from time to time.

Thanks,

Savnac:bow:
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 08:03 PM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,310
Most of the techniques dont change through the different versions of maya.. there are a few menu switches on maya 8.5 from 6.5 but all the tools are the same....
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 08:18 PM   #3
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
yep
im using 8.5 and ive never had any trouble with the tuts
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 08:36 PM   #4
Savnac
Subscriber
 
Savnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Kurt-

Tanks for getting back with me.

I am in the process of ordering a ton of tutorials that range from versions of Maya is what I was told. The reason why I ask him to do so is because I am so new at this, and I know that I will run into problems with scripting and others things that I am not aware of.

Please read down, the person that I asked to check this out for me, has responded to my request before I purchase, but please read down,,,,,

Here is what I was told>

Tutorials were done in Maya versions 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 8.5 with all service
packs when available.

There are no major differences between versions, although some tools have
moved position/changed name from the very early version to the latter
versions. Plus a few tweaks in the user interface.

The only real issue between versions is the scripting support (if used in
modeling) which may cause a few issues.

Nearly all the tutorials on Simplymaya are done by Kurt who is very active
on the site.

Kurt can I depend on your help please sir when i get stuck?

Thanks,



Savnac
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 08:38 PM   #5
Savnac
Subscriber
 
Savnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Oh I forgot to mention that I am running Maya 5.0 at home and Maya 8.5 PLE version at work.



I will be working from both versions so I know there will be issues.

Tanks,

Savnac
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 08:41 PM   #6
Savnac
Subscriber
 
Savnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Here are the titles that I am purchasing:

(A) The Yamaha YZF-R1
(B) The Tree Frog High Res
(C) GI Modeling
(D) The Haunted House Modeling
(E) The Pilot Girl
(F) Low Poly Modeling For Games
(G) Ferrari Remastered
(H) Anime Character -
(I) Mechwarrior
(J) Assult Mech

Thanks,

Savnac

Last edited by Savnac; 16-03-2008 at 03:41 AM.
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 08:49 PM   #7
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,310
note that the:

Ferrari Remastered

GI Modeling

Are not done by me....
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 09:45 PM   #8
Savnac
Subscriber
 
Savnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Ok so as for the rest of them, can you help me when I get stuck?

From what I shared with you regarding my versions 5.0 at and the 8.5 PLE version at work. Do you see that I will have issues?

Thanks,,

Savnac
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 09:52 PM   #9
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Im sure everyone on the forum will help you
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 09:55 PM   #10
Savnac
Subscriber
 
Savnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Elephantic-

Thanks,

Dare
  Reply with quote
16-03-2008, 12:37 AM   #11
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Everyone here is happy to help if you post with an issue.
One thing for you to note from the outset is you will not be able to load PLE scenes in your full version although you can load .ma and mb from full version into ple,nothing can be done to alter that.
Most of the newer tool workflows can be reproduced in earlier versions with a workaround if you have a tutorial that uses version 8.5 for example, there is always a way
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
  Reply with quote
16-03-2008, 12:38 AM   #12
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
yea dude that's what we're here for... if you have any questions, just ask - but the maya help files are pretty good at explaining where things are as well. so take a look at them, as well. don't forget, while in maya, it's just a push of F1 away.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
  Reply with quote
16-03-2008, 01:32 AM   #13
Savnac
Subscriber
 
Savnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Thanks, too you all.


Savnac
  Reply with quote
16-03-2008, 03:39 AM   #14
Savnac
Subscriber
 
Savnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Kurt-

Can you please review my list of tutorials that I just purchased, and tell me what version of Maya that you are using. I am looking on your interface to see if I can see what version that you are using. I can not tell.

So please go back too the top and just say what version that you are using on the tutorials that you instructed.

Thanks,

Savnac
  Reply with quote
16-03-2008, 04:31 AM   #15
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
a great idea when doing a tutorial, post a WIP in the WIP forum and show your progress, people will give you pointers in the right direction and anytime you need help finding something someone on the board will guide you in finding what you're looking for. It's always helpful, this forum is a life saver, and a stress reliever. Good luck and hope to see some WIP's from you.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modeling work-flow in Maya lecra Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 19-04-2013 09:12 AM
ElektroBot Making document - Sait Bakırcı saitbakirci Simply Maya Tutorials 0 07-06-2012 08:45 AM
texturing or modeling - which is more important? fluidedge Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 15-02-2008 06:54 PM
need help finding a tutorial plz look !!!ASAP ridicule Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 22-05-2006 10:59 AM
Modeling Instruction Source? diamondx Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 18-08-2004 12:01 AM