SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Maya Windows File corrupted on Mac

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
27-01-2011, 11:07 AM   #1
cyranovb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Maya Windows File corrupted on Mac
Hi everybody,

i created a Maya scene on a Windows Pc with Maya 2011. If I open it on a Mac with Maya 2011, too, parts of the animation are gone and materials are missing. I tried multiple files, so data loss on tansfer can be excluded.
I can't explain this phenomenon. Does anybody have experience on PC Mac exchange or can anybody explain that effect?
Thanks in advance!
  Reply with quote
22-06-2011, 12:29 AM   #2
mechanicarts
Registered User
 
mechanicarts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
Why don't you try saving in different formats? You mentioned different files, but formats?

Try .ma or even .fbx though I'm not sure it supports animation or other Maya attributes.
  Reply with quote
22-06-2011, 11:17 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
i'm going to guess it's something to do with the file paths. I have both pc and mac, but i only have maya on pc atm (my mac is only an entry level one so it can't do much)

i'm going to guess that when you say the materials are missing you mean the textures aren't on the model? You'd have to check the file path that the material is referring to is right.

I'm also guessing some of your animations are saved out as clips? it's likely again that the file paths aren't right

i'm not sure how to make the file paths relative to the project file but i think this issue has been bought up before with someone saying their textures are lost when brining one project over from one computer to another.
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
  Reply with quote
23-06-2011, 07:09 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
[QUOTE=Chirone;321037]my mac is only an entry level one so it can't do much[QUOTE]

Surely not, mac's are really powerful.

Just removed my tongue from my cheek.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
14-07-2011, 12:04 PM   #5
jerlin09
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
still i have the same problem ... is there any updated solution for this ?????
__________________
attendance tracking software
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
// Error: line 0: Error reading file. PiroEfekta Programming 13 03-08-2016 05:52 PM
Error Reading File... HELP ME PLEASE roryfollansbee Challenge Forum 1 16-04-2016 09:00 AM
Maya to Maya, PC to Mac should_be_shot Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 08-06-2010 09:14 AM
Maya Doesn't Startup Properly - Just Script Editor threedsnack Maya Technical Issues 1 04-02-2008 11:55 AM
I install Maya 8.0 Mac not compleate...Cause Maya Core 8.0 can't choose be install.. likhi1 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 23-01-2007 11:36 AM