SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya to Zbrush/Mudbox

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
04-03-2011, 09:23 PM   #1
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
Maya to Zbrush/Mudbox
After a 5 months layoff, I will be getting up and running again in maya, for those of you who saw my novice work, as before I will be doing another character model, but was thinking of starting it in maya then moving it over into zbrush /mudbox,for experimenting....though I still need to go a long way to even get to the level I have seen from other members.
I just want to know how do I actually import a model over into these over pieces of software.

Thnaks in advance

Jt
  Reply with quote
04-03-2011, 09:43 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
going between maya and zbrush and back you can use the GoZ feature
alternatively you can export your models as obj files

you can probably do the obj export for between maya and mudbox and back
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
  Reply with quote
04-03-2011, 10:01 PM   #3
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Like Chrirone said and try to have only four sided polys, also check you mesh in zrush under geometry check mesh integrity........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
05-03-2011, 10:13 PM   #4
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
how do you use the goz feature, and how do I make the file into an obj....I am off an on maya so much I am still in on my starting block, I try keep my hand in but sometimes I have a bit of work to get through with uni?

Thanks again for the response
  Reply with quote
06-03-2011, 12:22 AM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
If you can open and save a file you can figure this out as it's quite straight forward

GoZ is built into ZBrush since ZBrush 4 came out. The button is in the Tool Palette
GoZ ZBrush -> Maya
To use it select the tool in ZBrush and click GoZ in the Tool palette. Maya will open with the mesh

GoZ Maya -> ZBrush
Select the mesh and click the GoZ button on your shelf.
The shelf is put there when you install ZB4 assuming you told it to do that.
If it's not then you'll have to find the script and put it there

obj zbrush -> maya:
select the tool and click export in the Tool palette. the default export option is obj
in maya select File > Import to import the obj file

obj maya -> zbrush/mudbox
select the mesh and click File > Export Selection

I think when using obj there's something you have to turn off. Select options when you export from maya and turn off everything other than normals. I don't remember what it is you turn off but that was my last setting for it...

There might be something special to go between maya and mudbox but i've never used mudbox for more than a few minutes on someone elses computer. But given that they are both autodesk products now there might be something. Like, mudbox could probably open fbx files, which I hear is common between autodesk products
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
  Reply with quote
06-03-2011, 07:23 PM   #6
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
thanks again for the valuable advice
  Reply with quote
14-03-2011, 11:08 PM   #7
amorgan1717
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Hey man I know this is a maya site but it looks like your very informed about ZBrush too. In ZBrush my models keep losing their symmetry... I start it symettrical and by a couple hours through the piece, it gets distorted! Changing the symettry axis and using the 'posed' symettry tool doesn't work. Any suggestions?
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Reading File... HELP ME PLEASE roryfollansbee Challenge Forum 1 16-04-2016 09:00 AM
Death Brain Maya Nurb Tutorials liesengthok Maya Modeling 1 21-10-2007 10:46 AM
maya 2008 mirek03 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 13 25-08-2007 05:06 AM
Use Maya For Game... Why Maya? Triple-x Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 14 02-09-2005 09:07 PM
Maya vs. 3DS, Light Wave, Rhino ino ect... THX1138 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 45 17-09-2003 02:09 PM