SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / When does the world get too...BIG??

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
18-07-2005, 11:54 AM   #1
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
When does the world get too...BIG??
I am having an interesting problem. I am trying to create a background (a canyon) for my little airplanes to fly through. I am creating the canyon using a series of poly cylinders and connecting them all using booleans (easy enough). I am finding, however, that I cannot see the entire object. When I truck/dolly out in "Perspective", the object begins to disappear as if retreating into some sort of fog. I am creating all of this more or less within the confines of a grid.

I tried changing the units on the grid to "yards", but I think that's more a function of making a model than creating a world.

My question is exactly what can I do about this "fadeaway" issue, and is there a limit to the size of a "world" for any given scene. I would think that a "world" should, in theory, be able to be created in any size...

I will see if I can change the actual size of the grid. If so, perhaps that is the answer, but I'm not sure, hence my asking all of you! :-)

I browsed the general/newbie forum and though I found much interesting material I didn't see (or perhaps missed) anything which might pertain to my particular issue...

Any and all answers appreciated, and thanks again in advance!

Carry on...
  Reply with quote
18-07-2005, 12:47 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
select your camera and go to the attribute editor (ctrl A). There you'll find near and far clipping settings that you can increase as you need.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
18-07-2005, 08:16 PM   #3
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thank you yet again, Mike!

BTW I took the liberty of visiting your website...VERY nice!

Carry on...
  Reply with quote
18-07-2005, 08:46 PM   #4
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
You can also set the default near and far clip values in the Cameras section of the Preferences panel, so you don't have to mess with the scene cameras too often.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
  Reply with quote
19-07-2005, 03:06 PM   #5
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks, will do!

Carry on...
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modelling to real world scale in Maya - Solution found naveenraghul Maya Modeling 2 09-10-2017 06:42 AM
Manipulate World Space Scale jpentlan Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 03-05-2013 06:41 PM
Animation with real world props Darkmot Animation 2 15-08-2012 01:23 AM
Big Stadium Big Problem jjmacky88 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 29-06-2009 10:58 AM
50 missing movies in 3D world?? mirek03 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 9 30-03-2008 07:46 AM