Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 13-01-2004 , 08:31 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84

delay reaction script

Hey guys, i'm trying to make a delayed reaction and was hoping a script would justify it. I have looked on the sticky thread and found it to be of good use, but after that i'm stuck. (i'm not a scripter of any sort) Basically i'm using this script for a halo right above my angels head.


I used the:
Attribute of an object at a certain “offset"

int $offset = 10;
int $currentTime = `currentTime -q`;
$offsetTime = $currentTime - $offset;
$cube1Zpos = `getAttr -t $offsetTime pCube1.tz`;
pSphere1.translateZ = $cube1Zpos;

this works well for the only translate Z axis, then i've tried to duplicate it throughout the Y and X axis, but i get a syntax error
here's the modified version of it

int $offset = 10;
int $currentTime = `currentTime -q`;
$offsetTime = $currentTime - $offset;

$cube1Zpos = `getAttr -t $offsetTime pCube1.tz`;
$cube1Ypos = `getAttr -t $offsetTime pCube1.ty`;
$cube1Xpos = `getAttr -t $offsetTime pCube1.tx`;

pSphere1.translateZ = $cube1Zpos;
pSphere1.translateY = $cube1Ypos;
pSphere1.translateX = $cube1Xpos;

any suggestions on how to fix this or get it to work correctly

thanks in advance

# 2 20-01-2004 , 06:50 PM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
I think you may need to use setAttr rather than saying pSphere1.translateX.

so
setAttr pShere1.tx $cube1Xpos;
setAttr pShere1.ty $cube1Ypos;
setAttr pShere1.tz $cube1Zpos;

try that, is this an expression or a script? cause that will make a difference to your syntax.

Post again if you need more help

Alan


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
# 3 21-01-2004 , 09:43 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338


------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
# 4 24-01-2004 , 06:37 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks strarup

but what's the difference between the scripted i typed in and the one that's on the link???? is it only because I done mine is Z, Y, X order instead of the XYZ order?

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads