SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / New User. Sketchup editiing in Maya
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2011, 06:15 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Default New User. Sketchup editiing in Maya

I'm new to Maya and taking a basic class. I use AutoCad and Sketchup daily. I'd like to know if anyone here models in Sketchup, imports the models and animates in Maya. My work is really architecture based and the speed of modeling in SU is very important. I have imported one of my SU models into Maya and it worked great. However, I was trying to find how to add subdivisions in a face but could not. I doubt I would do much actual editing of SU models in Maya but I like to know how. Again I'm still in the introduction stages with Maya so I could be missing some obvious things.
KaisoArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 06:28 PM   #2
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374

I'm not sure exactly what you're asking, but you can add divisions to a face in a few different ways. One way is to smooth the model, which adds subdivisions to all faces (might not be what you want). You can use the split polygon tool, which is probably the way you want, or even the cut faces tool, which slices a new edge through the whole model.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 06:37 PM   #3
The Nurb Herd
honestdom's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381

i always find with sketchUp models that it is easier to light and texture them if they are separate layers in sketchUp. That program is quick, but spits out some ugly geometry.

(or maybe its just my girlfriends models.)
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 06:55 PM   #4
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15

Thanks for the quick replies. I think the split/slice might be what I need. Haven't addressed that tool yet.

SU is really quick and easy--and even more easy to ignore good object organization. This then transfers wherever it is imported.

I've read a tutorial about importing SU files and that worked well. The writer did talk about setting up the hierarchy for the import into Maya. I did not do any of that though. I understand the parent/child elements, but wonder if my SU methods might not work exactly right. Here is what I do

In SU the safest and fastest way to work is to draw everything on layer 1. Then after the objects are completed, group and/or component-ize them. I then make separate layers for the group/components and move them to their own layer. e.g a walls layer, a floor layer etc. I expect that within Maya I can then assign Parent/child attributes. e.g., wall parent with railing as the child.

Anyway, I'll try to play with this further.
KaisoArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 05:56 AM   #5
Lifetime Member
bullet1968's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255

Thanks KA I have never seen sketchup...just DL the free one...interesting!

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Windows File corrupted on Mac cyranovb Technical Issues 4 14-07-2011 12:04 PM
Maya not keyframing properly! Gotmilk0112 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 01-02-2011 07:15 PM
glu3D and Maya bullet1968 Technical Issues 2 21-12-2010 04:27 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
User status THX1138 Board Questions & Suggestions 4 05-12-2010 10:55 PM