SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.
 
Thread Tools
# 1 10-08-2005, 03:39 AM
Triple-x's Avatar
Triple-x
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8

Use Maya For Game... Why Maya?

Use Maya for Game Development ... ?

Why Maya?

"But why Maya?" I hear you ask. "Surely 3D Studio Max is the more dominant 3D application in the games industry." There was a time when this was true, but Maya is fast becoming the industry standard.

In 2002 Maya was used to create six of the top ten best-selling PlayStation 2 titles. Characters in the Tomb Raider series, Jak and Daxter, Legend of Zelda, and Halo 2 have all been lovingly crafted using Maya's extensive toolset. A recent Alias Systems press release states that in an independent survey performed by Acacia Research, 46 percent of North American games development studios said they used Maya. Within the top eight studios in Japan, 50 percent of their 3D software licenses are now Maya licenses.

All over the world, games development studios are turning to Maya. In North America, Infinity Ward, Ion Storm, Sony Computer Entertainment, Polyphony, Nintendo, Namco, and Square-Enix, to name but a few, have made the transition. In Europe, Digital Illusions, Blitz Games, Bizarre Creations, Lionhead Studios, and Electronic Arts all utilize Maya as the main tool for creating artwork for their games.

As you can see, more and more companies are switching to Maya, and this is mainly due to its continued focus on the games development market. This focus shows resultswith each new release of Maya comes more features geared toward games development.

Good reason to be Maya :attn:


Welcome to Xander Zone

Last edited by Triple-x; 10-08-2005 at 03:41 AM.
# 2 10-08-2005, 04:34 PM
alienscience's Avatar
alienscience
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Oh, so true. The animating and dynamics dont hurt either.

# 3 10-08-2005, 05:44 PM
mtmckinley's Avatar
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Hear, hear! I concur!

*coughcough*book link in sig *coughcough*

# 4 10-08-2005, 06:13 PM
dannyngan's Avatar
dannyngan
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
There goes Mike pimping his book again.


Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
# 5 10-08-2005, 07:04 PM
mtmckinley's Avatar
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
# 6 11-08-2005, 01:10 PM
noanswer42
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Can somebody tell me anything they know about SoftImage XSI?. I was just looking at it and wondering if anyone here has used it before, or whether it could be a reasonable substitution for Maya (just trying to keep my options open). I think they might have used it to work on Half-Life 2.

# 7 11-08-2005, 07:22 PM
gohan1842's Avatar
gohan1842
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Ummm, question. What made you put this thread in the noobs section for asking questions? It sounds more like a general statement.


I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
# 8 11-08-2005, 07:38 PM
noanswer42
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
I don't know.

Edit: There was no reason for me to say that...hmmm...

# 9 16-08-2005, 01:11 PM
darijo203's Avatar
darijo203
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Croatia
Posts: 257
Never used Softimage but I know it was the king of animation before Maya showed up.
Jurassic Park used Softimage, so ILM have been using Softimage in 90's.

Yes its good to stay open,but you cant go wrong with Maya!
Tools are simmilar in every package.


ICQ:215-024-460
# 10 21-08-2005, 10:58 PM
linx02
Subscriber
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK , cambs
Posts: 45
nows the time pople get good at maya , join a company , get rich , live the life of dreams , listen to music , drink , get a nice house , cool bird , my life :bow:


# 11 22-08-2005, 12:04 AM
Shadeblade's Avatar
Shadeblade
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 779

Originally posted by linx02
nows the time pople get good at maya , join a company , get rich , live the life of dreams , listen to music , drink , get a nice house , cool bird , my life :bow:

Originally Posted by
Oh, but if only a 3d modeller/animator's salary allowed...
:hug:


Nobody felt like avenging your death. Sorry.
# 12 22-08-2005, 12:10 AM
publicFunction's Avatar
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701

Originally posted by noanswer42
Can somebody tell me anything they know about SoftImage XSI?. I was just looking at it and wondering if anyone here has used it before, or whether it could be a reasonable substitution for Maya (just trying to keep my options open). I think they might have used it to work on Half-Life 2.

Originally Posted by
Hi pal,

I was an XSI 4 user and found some of its features very good, but in the end I turned to Maya. XSI is easier to learn and has a simple GUI to learn. Maya is tougher to use and learn, but worth the effort in the long run..

XSI is a great tool, but does not share all the features of the Industry Giant and King of the Hill, Maya. XSI has easy binding for skinning and subsequent animation, but is clumsy. I would evaluate what your wanting to do. Model, Texture, Aminate, Rig or build scenes or deal with lighting. XSI has no NURBS and only deals with Polys. It ability to render in the GUI and not use another window is very handy, but these dont compare to the in built tools available for Maya. XSI has very few tutorials available and even fewer free ones. Maya has a large community (not as big as 3DS Max). If you were looking for an alternative I would dump for 3DS. But be warned I did not like its GUI and found it wierd to use and ditched it after only 2 months. I used XSI to learn basic Poly modelling and after 6 months made the switch to Maya.

Remember tho XSI was used to create the best 1st person shooter of all time - Half Life 2.

3DS Max is the tool used by Rockstar North for GTA 3 Series.

So its up to you and what you want to do.

I would still say Maya is the best. I mean Pixar use it... :bow:

'nough said....

All hail Alias... :attn:


Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)

Last edited by R@nSiD; 22-08-2005 at 12:20 AM.
# 13 02-09-2005, 07:33 PM
matt4068
Subscriber
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 274
hl2 wasnt the best of all time.... hl was.

# 14 02-09-2005, 07:55 PM
linx02
Subscriber
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK , cambs
Posts: 45
true ture


# 15 02-09-2005, 09:07 PM
Phopojijo
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Halo 2, UT2004 (I believe), and others were actually built using a steady blend of Maya and Max. Its funny looking at jobs for various companies

Modeller of a company> "Must be proficient (sp?) in 3d studio max"
Animator of the same company (on the same project)> "Must be proficient in Maya and MELscript"

All I got to say, is Okino is living the high-life :p

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off