SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.
 
Thread Tools
# 1 29-03-2006, 11:15 AM
deathwish
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 170

Dragon Head tutorial

Havent posted for a long time, this is goig back a while as i havent had time to use maya for a long time and i want to get back into it.

I am having issues when trying to detatch a surface on a nurbs model, when i select isoparms and click detatch, it doesnt work i do this twice - all it seems to do is create another isoparm instead.

Any info would be great, thanks in advance.

# 2 29-03-2006, 06:56 PM
mmoore5553
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
did you ever get this figured out ? if not i have the drag tutorial and I will take a look at it tonight when i get off work ..just let me know

Also where abouts in the dragon tutoral is this at ?


Last edited by mmoore5553; 29-03-2006 at 06:59 PM.
# 3 29-03-2006, 07:35 PM
deathwish
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 170
its only on the second part when you split the head in half for easier working

# 4 29-03-2006, 07:37 PM
mmoore5553
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
okay will try to look into it tonight ..that is one the first cd right ? then it has the image plane and cut it ? correct.. i remember bits and peices of that stages .

# 5 29-03-2006, 07:48 PM
mmoore5553
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
also did you pick the lower half , had to pick both of them ?

# 6 29-03-2006, 09:24 PM
deathwish
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 170
i picked the bottom part to make sure just in case - made no difference, very odd i thought

# 7 30-03-2006, 02:13 AM
mmoore5553
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
hey back. i just open my dragon and went back. did you go to isoparms and then click on the first middle one on top and then go back and hold shift and select the other one on the bottom ..then edit nurbs and dettach surfaces. You have to do it twice. Then to make sure they are two seperate parts just click on the side you want delete and then only that side will highlight ..then hit delete...that should do it ...

if you have problems just post up your file and I or someone else can take a look at it

also make sure you set detach surfaces to default


Last edited by mmoore5553; 30-03-2006 at 02:57 AM.
# 8 30-03-2006, 07:47 AM
deathwish
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 170
thanks for your reply i think i am being a bit of a muppet, i will check and let you know.

# 9 30-03-2006, 01:20 PM
mmoore5553
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
well keep us posted and hope ya get it worked out

# 10 30-03-2006, 04:05 PM
deathwish
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 170
ok it was bme being stupid, thanks for th info.

It was because i wasnt selecting the two isoparms i was only selecting the one.

# 11 30-03-2006, 04:15 PM
mmoore5553
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
well that is good ..at least ya figured it out ...

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off