SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
General Lighting, Camera & Rendering Related Topics
 
Thread Tools
# 1 31-03-2011, 02:22 PM
NoxRequiem
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5

Rendering Problem

I am using Maya 2011 on Windows 7, and I am rendering using Maya Software. I started a batch render and left it run overnight. I usually do this with on problems. The next morning, it said the render was complete, however it stopped halfway through my scene, and I was prompted to send an error report.

I restarted the batch render, beginning at the frame where it quit. It started up as usual, then said it was completed, even though nothing actually got rendered, and again I was prompted to send an error report.

I tried rendering the problem frame by itself, and I received this error message:

Fatal Error. Attempting to save in C:/Users/jcolton/AppData/Local/Temp/jcolton.20110331.0951.ma

After that Maya crashed and I was forced to quit. I tried rendering the frames immediately before and after the problem frame, and they came out just fine, so I tried batch rendering again, but starting after the problem frame. It finished one frame, then quit.

Here's the last entry in the render log:


3/31/2011

Starting "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2011\bin\mayabatch.exe"
mental ray for Maya 2011
// Mental ray for Maya: using startup file C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/maya.rayrc.
mental ray for Maya: setup
mental ray for Maya: initialize
mental ray: version 3.8.1.26, Feb 9 2010, revision 110437
mental ray for Maya: using 1 license
mental ray for Maya: register extensions
// mental ray Node Factory: loaded
mental ray for Maya: successfully registered
mental ray for Maya: loading startup file: C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/maya.rayrc
// parsing C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/include/AdskShaderSDKWrappers.mi
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/include/architectural.mi
// loading C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/lib/architectural.dll
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/include/base.mi
// loading C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/lib/base.dll
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/include/contour.mi
// loading C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/lib/contour.dll
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/include/paint.mi
// loading C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/lib/paint.dll
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/include/physics.mi
// loading C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/lib/physics.dll
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/include/production.mi
// loading C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/lib/production.dll
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/include/subsurface.mi
// loading C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/lib/subsurface.dll
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/include/surfaceSampler.mi
// loading C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2011/mentalray/lib/surfaceSampler.dll
// generating Maya nodes...
File read in 1 seconds.
Result: C:/Users/jcolton/Documents/3D Animations/Ipe Clip Installation/scenes/1x6_Pregrooved_FullDeck_PreDrilling2__908.mb
Total Elapsed Time Since Start Of Maya (hh:mm:ss): 00:00:13
====================================
Resource Usage At Start Of Rendering
====================================
215238 Page faults
282.117 Mb Max resident size
321.473 Mb Peak total size(Estimated)
115.039 Mb Peak arena size
====================================
270.988 Mb Current
43.472 Mb Arrays
16.875 Mb MEL
0.002 Mb arguments
1.250 Mb Data Blocks
0.124 Mb Transforms
0.750 Mb NURBS AG
0.124 Mb NURBS Surface Shapes
0.125 Mb Keys
====================================
Rendering using 2 threads.
================================================== ========================
Maya Fur Renderer [Start]
================================================== ========================
Maya Fur Renderer: Preparing Maya Fur data files...
Maya Fur Renderer: Preparing data files for frame #351 (t=351)
Maya Fur Renderer: Maya Fur data files completed
Maya Fur Renderer: Checking equalizer map for each surface
Maya Fur Renderer: Creating equalizer map for surface 'grassShape'
WARNING: light (pointLightShape1) not defined in .hair file!
WARNING: light (pointLightShape2) not defined in .hair file!
WARNING: light (pointLightShape3) not defined in .hair file!
WARNING: light (pointLightShape4) not defined in .hair file!
Transforming lights and geometry...
Creating geometry Z buffer...
Result: C:/Users/jcolton/Documents/3D Animations/Ipe Clip Installation/scenes/1x6_Pregrooved_FullDeck_PreDrilling2__908.ma
Fatal Error. Attempting to save in C:/Users/jcolton/AppData/Local/Temp/jcolton.20110331.1020.ma
// Maya exited with status 1

# 2 31-03-2011, 02:39 PM
honestdom's Avatar
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
are you rendering with motion blur?

# 3 31-03-2011, 02:40 PM
NoxRequiem
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
No, I am not using motion blur.

# 4 31-03-2011, 03:40 PM
LauriePriest's Avatar
LauriePriest
Moderator
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Its best if you put a scene up, the error log isn't really verbose enough.

Looks like your doing fur rendering right? Take it out of your scene and see if it fails.

Also may renderer is pretty limited in terms of debugging, go on mental ray instead.

As you can see its dumping out a z depth from the camera to comp it in as a post process, which is rubbish. Makes it even more tricky to debug as something like this is happening:
Render maya scene > render fur with slightly different renderer> fudge the fur on top .


FX supervisor - double negative
# 5 31-03-2011, 03:58 PM
NoxRequiem
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
I attached the scene file. I am using fur to simulate grass. I've also tried batch rendering after the problem frame, and it works just fine for a while, then quits again. It seems there are just a handful of frames scattered throughout the animation that are causing problems.

Attached Files File Type: zip
IpeClip_Installation.zip (658.3 KB, 635 views)
# 6 31-03-2011, 04:38 PM
NoxRequiem
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
I just tried rendering a problem frame without the grass (fur) and it worked perfectly. However, I don't want to have to get rid of the grass.

I've rendered this scene before, but it worked just fine. The only difference now is that objects are referenced to make editing easier.

# 7 01-04-2011, 09:39 AM
LauriePriest's Avatar
LauriePriest
Moderator
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Use mental ray?


FX supervisor - double negative
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off