SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.
 
Thread Tools
# 1 04-10-2011, 07:36 AM
CGWolfgang's Avatar
CGWolfgang
Subscriber
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 224

Displacement map question

Hello everyone,

I was playing with Mudbox a bit to make sculpted hair for my human male/COH character. I've sculpted the mesh and managed to make a normal map and a displacement map. I've managed to get the normal map to work but for some reason when I use a displacement map it increaces the size of the hair mesh. I've included a picture below. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Note: I'm using two different phongs to experiment between normal mapping and displacement mapping. I'm not trying to use both maps on the same shader.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	showntell.jpeg
Views:	293
Size:	82.7 KB
ID:	48832  

~To create a new world through the imagination
# 2 06-10-2011, 03:19 AM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
Hmm maybe you can lower the alpha offset on the file node and bump up the alpha gain to compensate.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 3 06-10-2011, 06:16 AM
CGWolfgang's Avatar
CGWolfgang
Subscriber
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 224
Thanks for the tip GecT! That worked out great! I did a little extra research to help me understand why it was doing that. Apparently Mudbox makes its base color for no displacement as 50% Grey where Maya wants it black.

Thanks again!


~To create a new world through the imagination
# 4 14-02-2013, 06:31 PM
Vroon
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Yeah, you have to be a little careful when porting maps between programs. I believe mudbox does that to give relative displacement in both directions. The typical issue that happens when you say black is 0 displacement is that you can only displace parallel to the normal (up or out), using 50% gray gives you the ability to displace either way (though you have to play with the settings in maya).

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off