SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.
 
Thread Tools
# 1 21-06-2012, 03:19 AM
GforGannon
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17

Simple noob question.

Hello! I am new to Maya and had a very simple question.

I want to grab verts like this with the move tool


But for some reason they're grabbing like this.


I couldn't really find an answer for such an specific question. Thanks for the help!

# 2 21-06-2012, 03:36 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
NextDesign
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
You're using a NURBS cylinder, which is really 3 surfaces; a top and bottom cap, and a side. What is shown in the first image is a polygon cylinder, which is one continuous piece of geometry.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 21-06-2012, 04:22 AM
GforGannon
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Oh man you're totally right...

Thanks for the help!

# 4 21-06-2012, 04:55 AM
GforGannon
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Also, do you know if I can edit hotkeys in Maya? If so, how do I get to the menu?

# 5 21-06-2012, 05:01 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
NextDesign
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
No problem.

Window>Settings/Preferences>Hotkey Editor.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off