Introduction to Maya - Rendering in Arnold
This course will look at the fundamentals of rendering in Arnold. We'll go through the different light types available, cameras, shaders, Arnold's render settings and finally how to split an image into render passes (AOV's), before we then reassemble it i
# 1 26-06-2003 , 09:37 PM
train_ucl's Avatar
user title spammer
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 195

color attribute

Hello

as a total newb i got a newb question:

how do i have to write a color ?
i want to assign a color to my lambert material with a mel-script:

lamMAT_matrix.color = ;

i dont know how the mel script wants the color ...
thanks for help


-train~

# 2 26-06-2003 , 10:19 PM
kbrown's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
It's a vector variable so you write it:
lamMAT_matrix.color = << r, g, b >>;

where r = red, g = green and blue ranging from 0 to 1.
Black would be << 0, 0, 0 >>, white would be << 1, 1, 1 >> and mid green would be << 0, 0.5, 0 >>. Get it?


Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
# 3 27-06-2003 , 08:47 AM
train_ucl's Avatar
user title spammer
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 195
HEllo! First, thanks for your help ...
i did it befor that way as well, because i found this expression for a vector in the maya help, but it tried it and maya gave me this answer (to the exact same line you wrote) :
"Error: Attributes must be of float, integer, or boolean types: color" ...
and thats what i don´t get user added image ...the rest i am familiar with from photoshop.
do you have any idea why maya doesn´t accept that line ?

-train~

# 4 27-06-2003 , 09:01 AM
kbrown's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Uh... I talked BS before :p
It's not a vector variable. It's a float3. You also (may) need to use the setAttr command:

setAttr lambert1.color 1 1 1;

Sorry, my bad...


Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
# 5 27-06-2003 , 05:31 PM
mark_wilkins's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 161
In an expression, you set the R, G, and B like this:

lambert1.colorR = 0;
lambert1.colorG = 1;
lambert1.colorB = 0;

You can connect another float3 attribute to lambert1.color, which is a compound attribute that includes colorR, colorG, and colorB.

Look in the Node and Attribute Reference to see this stuff -- these attributes are listed on the page for the Lambert node.

-- Mark


Mark R. Wilkins
author of MEL Scripting for Maya Animators
www.melscripting.com
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off