SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / texturing a building

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
20-03-2004, 07:15 PM   #1
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,710
texturing a building
I have struggled for days now trying to figure out how to get a brick texture the right scale to fit on a building I understand roughly about texture mapping , but if you search for images of bricks on the net you will obviously get an image of a certain size and it will not be the whole side of a wall for instance.What I want to know in real basic terms is how can this texture be sized to fit on say the side of a house and still be the right scale ?
Does it involve a repeat of the image and if so , How to get the joins so the texture looks like a complete row of bricks ?
hope this question is clear and thanks in advance
  Reply with quote
20-03-2004, 07:53 PM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,310
Hope the image helps.. you have to change setting in2dtexture node.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	texture.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	198.0 KB
ID:	14131  
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
  Reply with quote
20-03-2004, 07:58 PM   #3
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,710
thanks Kurt ..will give it a try
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
  Reply with quote
20-03-2004, 08:38 PM   #4
Clod
Registered User
 
Clod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Should it not be the "Repeat UV" settings that should be increased?

Here's a basic tutorial on making textures seamless:
http://www.cadtutor.net/dd/photo/seamless/seamless.html

Last edited by Clod; 20-03-2004 at 08:41 PM.
  Reply with quote
20-03-2004, 09:48 PM   #5
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,710
Kurt I tried your method and I still had the seams showing, so then I read the tutorial that clod suggested and managed to make it seamless in PS.
Thanks clod for the info.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware texturing problem... DeirdreDarling Maya Materials & Textures 2 05-07-2012 05:47 PM
Texturing a building lecra Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 12 20-11-2011 01:01 AM
Getting good in texturing chameleon101 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 11-08-2011 06:20 PM
maya texturing - whole process greatly confusing n88tr Maya Materials & Textures 11 09-06-2010 05:25 AM
need help with texturing a building Apollo15 Maya Materials & Textures 1 26-12-2002 10:00 PM