SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / maya 8.5 file in earlier version?

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
06-08-2007, 11:11 PM   #1
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
maya 8.5 file in earlier version?
Is it possible to take a scene made in 8.5 and open it in an earlier version, like 6.5? For now I need to go back to 6.5 because my graphics card isn't supported by 8.5 and I get a lot of errors and it doesn't let me use the hardware render but I could in 6.5. I'm in the process of saving up for a new graphics card but until then I'd like to be able to use maya and not have a bunch of errors.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
  Reply with quote
07-08-2007, 03:04 AM   #2
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Hey there Mike,

unfortunately it's not possible to open Maya 8.5 files in earlier versions.

Hope you manage until you get your new card,

Mat.
__________________
Click here to visit my site
  Reply with quote
07-08-2007, 03:08 AM   #3
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
I think the MA. Extension is cross version?
I could be wrong, Good Luck
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
  Reply with quote
07-08-2007, 08:34 AM   #4
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
You need to save the scene in the Maya ASCII format and then go into a text editor and change any references to 8.5 in the header to 6.5. That should work provided that you don't have any 8.5 specific stuff in the scene.
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!

Last edited by The Architect; 07-08-2007 at 08:46 AM.
  Reply with quote
07-08-2007, 06:32 PM   #5
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
I could attempt it... it shouldn't be too long, but I've already gone about a month without really using maya that much. Thanks for your help
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
  Reply with quote
14-09-2007, 05:27 PM   #6
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally posted by The Architect
You need to save the scene in the Maya ASCII format and then go into a text editor and change any references to 8.5 in the header to 6.5. That should work provided that you don't have any 8.5 specific stuff in the scene.

I just wanted to thank you, it worked out well. This will definitely get me by until I get my new power supply in, it'll be weird to actually use maya again, it's been like 2 months
thanks again
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Maya file into an MP4 file fabeha Animation 8 19-02-2019 12:05 PM
File opening problems with maya 2013 Nikkitsune Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 17-02-2013 06:39 PM
Maya file and Project lost/disappeared, Help PLEASE dubai3d Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 24-11-2012 09:03 PM
HELP PLEASE Dushyant Maya Technical Issues 12 25-08-2012 08:49 AM
how do i open a maya 2008 file as a maya 8.5 file mr pix. Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 29-02-2008 04:53 AM