Introduction to Maya - Rendering in Arnold
This course will look at the fundamentals of rendering in Arnold. We'll go through the different light types available, cameras, shaders, Arnold's render settings and finally how to split an image into render passes (AOV's), before we then reassemble it i
# 1 29-08-2009 , 12:35 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6

x,y,z reading on selected vertices and objects

i need to know how to get x, y, z readings on selected objects

# 2 29-08-2009 , 01:40 PM
BennyK's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Display>UI Elements> Chanel Box


When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
# 3 29-08-2009 , 03:03 PM
mastone's Avatar
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605

Originally posted by BennyK
Display>UI Elements> Chanel Box

A Chanel box, sounds something you would give to your girlfriend LOL

# 4 29-08-2009 , 03:08 PM
bendingiscool's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Do you mean the commands for part of a script or as described above?

Chris

# 5 29-08-2009 , 03:14 PM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
if its verts and such I would use xform

Select the vert and use the following in the script editor

xform -q - t ;

To get the position of the vert


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 6 30-08-2009 , 04:12 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
thx guys user added image, i dont think the channel box is what im looking for. I guess i need a script that will give readings permanently and with every selection.

# 7 30-08-2009 , 12:04 PM
bendingiscool's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Just select your verts and give this a go (in the python tab):

Code:
import maya.cmds as mc

sel = mc.ls(sl = True)

for node in sel:
	vertPos = mc.xform(node, ws=True, q=True, t=True)
 	print vertPos

# 8 30-08-2009 , 02:46 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
maybe i wasnt specific enough :S. I need a HUD number reading that constantly updates with each selection. it'd be nice to also be able to turn this on and off.

# 9 30-08-2009 , 05:42 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6

Originally posted by bendingiscool
Just select your verts and give this a go (in the python tab):

Code:
import maya.cmds as mc

sel = mc.ls(sl = True)

for node in sel:
	vertPos = mc.xform(node, ws=True, q=True, t=True)
 	print vertPos

this, makes all the vertices around the selected vertice move as well....now i need to know how to undo this TT

# 10 02-09-2009 , 12:42 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
COME ON I'M TOTALLY AT A STANDSTILL BECAUSE THIS CODE. I NEED TO REVERSE IT NOW plz

# 11 02-09-2009 , 02:14 PM
mastone's Avatar
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
I am not a coding expert but I think you have to replace this part of the code;
ws=True, q=True, t=True

to ws=0, q=0, t=0

user added image

# 12 06-09-2009 , 02:47 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
thx, i guess i'm just looking to answer the question about how to reverse that code, unless im just a newb and accidentely turned something on... i'll get screenshots in a minute

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads