Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 01-06-2014 , 10:40 PM

Wine Glass rendering issues in Mental Ray?

Hello. I'm trying to render a wine glass in Maya that I plan on exploding using Pulldownit and Realflow.

I modeled the wine glass by using a picture of a real wine glass on an image plane and revolving a NURBS curve into a polygon-made glass.

I've been using Maya for 4 years now, and I still can't figure out what's going on. I own Maya 2011 and this is a snapshot of the problem with my wine glass..

user added image

I have tried using both the dialectic and Mia_Material_X mental ray materials, but the image above is using the Mia_Material_X with the "Thick Glass" preset, with some modifications.

The issue is the inside of the glass and the wine inside the glass appears to be too distant, you know what I mean?

But look at the X-Ray of my wine glass...

user added image

It is the average thickness of a wine glass and the wine inside is very close to the edge like it should be.

I also have the scene scaled to the right size, which is important with lighting and mental ray. The size of my wine glass is 18.62 cm in height, which is equivalent to a 9-inch tall wine glass. I am using Image-based lighting, because I have gotten some pretty realistic results from my other projects in the past using it.

Here are the settings for my Mia_Material_X.

user added image user added image

If I select "Thin Walled" under Advanced Refraction or select the "Thin Glass" preset, this is what I get...

user added image