Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 13-12-2013 , 11:27 AM

How to extrude on angled shapes?

Hi guys first things first I am relatively new to Maya and my major skill isn't modelling.

Recently I encountered a problem which I thought is pretty basic modelling stuff but it gives me a hard time. Not sure If I just can see the solution anymore because I try to get my head around for too long or if it is that complicated.

I want to create boarder around some face on an angular shape. Something like a window border. The shape changes its angles a lot of times that's why the faces start to intersect when I extrude them in normal direction.

I also want to make sure the boarder has the same thickness and same height (distance to the flat faces) all the way through.
If I extrude edges in normal direction the boarder will be thinner at the bottom an thicker at its top because of the different face angles.

I also tried to use the extrude command and then move faces or scale them in average normal direction but at some point on my model it still doesnt look right.

I have the feeling I wont get it done without do a lot of manual clean up. However even then I dont feel like I am in control of what I get and my result isnt consistent in terms of thickness and height

I also extruded with "Keep faces together" ticked off and tried to merge the vertices afterwards. I am not not in control either though. I dont be sure if the width or height of my border is consistend.

I wouldn't mind another solution than extrude.

If any Maya-Modeler out there can describe how he would solve that kind of problem. I would really appreciate it.

Thanks so much

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 04-02-2014 , 01:18 PM