SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya tips & tricks

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 7 of 14 « First 5 6 7 8 9 Last »
 
Thread Tools
27-07-2005, 03:11 AM   #91
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Getting the Bends
Mirror cutting is a handy features for bending objects along whichever axis you want. A typical use might be to creat something like a picture frame. To use, select an object then select Polyons>Mirror cut>options box. You'll need the option box to select the settings for the tool. For bending purposes you'll want the combine meshes option selected. The manipulator handle for this includes movement and rotation option. You're actually moving or rotating a cutting plane which defines where the mirroring will occur. In the example a below a simple elongated box is mirror cut to create a 90 degree bend. To ensure a perfect bend, 45 degrees was specified in the appropriate channel box field.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mirror_cut.jpg
Views:	945
Size:	153.0 KB
ID:	22507  
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon; 27-07-2005 at 04:58 AM.
  Reply with quote
27-07-2005, 11:35 AM   #92
Geman
Registered User
 
Geman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Planet Mars
Posts: 3
Hey,


Tx for all the Tricks and Tips.

I need to create pipes and I use curves to create the pipes and then extrude them. I was wondering if I can use mirror cutting on cylinders too?

Keep up the good work!!!!!
  Reply with quote
27-07-2005, 04:41 PM   #93
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
mirror cut should work on any polygonal object. You can even apply multiple mirror cuts to a single mesh. Mirror cuts act like deforms in that effects are cumulative. Also to "lock in" the effect you should delete history on the object to remove the mirror cut influence. Below are some sample mirror cuts on various polygonal objects including a torus, a cone, a cylinder, a simple head shape, and an extruded poly profile (sort of a guard rail shape).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mirror-cuts.jpg
Views:	924
Size:	139.5 KB
ID:	22526  
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
  Reply with quote
27-07-2005, 06:08 PM   #94
Geman
Registered User
 
Geman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Planet Mars
Posts: 3
mhcannon thx for the quick reply.
I will play around with it.
  Reply with quote
28-07-2005, 02:56 AM   #95
joed8349
Registered User
 
joed8349's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
F key for framing in Outliner window
In addition to using the ' f ' key to frame a selected object in the viewing window, you can press ' f' while in the Outliner window to to frame the selected object's node. This is very helpful when working with a character that has many joints and parts, or objects that are grouped many times.
  Reply with quote
28-07-2005, 08:12 AM   #96
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
The "a" and "f" short cuts work in most editors as does the alt + mmb and alt + rmb.

a = frame all
f = frame selected
mmb = middle mouse button
rmb = right mouse button
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
  Reply with quote
06-08-2005, 06:40 AM   #97
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Modeling in Black and White
If you've used landscape generator such as Bryce or Vue than you'll be familiar with this techinique. These programs use a grayscale image to generate terrain height. You can do a similar thing in Maya by coverting displacement maps into polygons. To do this you will have to assign a grayscale texture to the displacement channel of an objects shading group (NURBS or polys only). Once the displacment map is assigned, simply select Modify>Convert>Displacement to Polygons. This creates a new object that has the displaced geometry. As this is math intensive, it may take a while to compute. In the example shown, the original object was a simple NURBS plain with 16x16 U and V division. The image inset bottom left is the grayscale image that was used.

WARNING
Depending on the resolution and complexity of the grayscale image used, the resulting polygon may be a heavy mesh (see HUD inset).

Beside creating geometry that might otherwise be diffucult to model, the method saves the renderer from having to calculate the displacement and allows accurate interaction with geometry.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	disp-model copy.jpg
Views:	854
Size:	163.0 KB
ID:	22731  
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon; 06-08-2005 at 06:44 AM.
  Reply with quote
06-08-2005, 06:48 AM   #98
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Modeling in Black and White (cont.)
For those curious, this is the shading group for the terrain displacement in the previous post.

Pretty simple network...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	disp_sg.jpg
Views:	834
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	22733  
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon; 06-08-2005 at 06:51 AM.
  Reply with quote
06-08-2005, 10:34 AM   #99
Splashor
Registered User
 
Splashor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 16
Adding items to the shelve
I know this is know by the most of you already, but since I haven't seen it in here yet:

You can add items to your shelve by holding ctrl+shift when clicking in a menu.

*Hope this qualifies as a good hint/trick :blush:



Thanks, Mitchell
  Reply with quote
07-08-2005, 07:52 AM   #100
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Help for those "Senior" moments
If you've ever had a "senior" moment in which you couldn't remember which menu a tool or option was there is hope for you. Under the help menu there is a "Find Menu" option that allows keyword searches. This will show you all the menus that contain the keyword searched. Of course if you can't remeber where the "Find Menu" is, well....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	find.jpg
Views:	808
Size:	121.3 KB
ID:	22761  
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
  Reply with quote
07-08-2005, 08:19 AM   #101
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
5th Panel... sort of
This is a work around to the limit of four panels view sets. If you need more than four, you can create tear off panels. In any of the standard viewports, select the camer you want to make into a new panel viewport. Then select Panel>Tear off copy...

Once the new floating panel appears you can safely switch the original viewport to a different camera.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5th_panel.jpg
Views:	807
Size:	237.3 KB
ID:	22762  
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
  Reply with quote
12-08-2005, 02:07 PM   #102
akky_pakky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kaeachi
Posts: 4
Help!!!!!!!
hey Guys!! how'z ya?? I need your Help guys .. i m new user of Maya ... i was using 3d Max frm 2 yrs ... now i wanna switch on Maya ... Because Maya's charater amimation is too advance than Max... thats why .. now guys .. i need yr help ... who can tell me ... how should i do in start .... gimme some tips n tricks n basic tutorials ...

Thank YOu

Ragards
  Reply with quote
12-08-2005, 03:25 PM   #103
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Heres a big tip for ya,, Buy the videos on this site
  Reply with quote
12-08-2005, 08:03 PM   #104
akky_pakky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kaeachi
Posts: 4
<<Heres a big tip for ya,, Buy the videos on this site>>

Thanx buddy ... Yeah i m using dat videos ...
  Reply with quote
12-08-2005, 09:16 PM   #105
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Poly Extrusions on Curves
Most modelers are used to extruding profile curves along a path curve, but many forget that you can do the same thing with polygonal faces. Try this out, create a curve, select the faces you want to follow that curve then open the Extrude Faces Option Box and make sure "use selected curve for extrusion" is selected. Set any other extrude options then apply.

In the this example a simple torso was created then the base faces of the arm were extruded along a path curve simulating the arm bend and distance. If you have history on, you can even modify the extrusion result by editing the CVs or EPs of the path curve.

P.S. To all, hope you read through this entire thread. Run a search on the forum if you looking for particular topic. If you're having problems with a tut then come back and ask a specific question, but please try to keep this thread related to tips and/or tricks. Oh... and a reminder anyone may post a tip or trick.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-1.jpg
Views:	791
Size:	162.6 KB
ID:	22843  
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon; 25-08-2005 at 05:41 AM.
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 7 of 14 « First 5 6 7 8 9 Last »

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't batch render more than two frames! lvuorenvirta Lighting & Rendering 2 15-05-2015 09:51 AM
Cant open file Jimmer Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 18-09-2014 03:58 AM
maya 2008 mirek03 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 13 25-08-2007 05:06 AM
I install Maya 8.0 Mac not compleate...Cause Maya Core 8.0 can't choose be install.. likhi1 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 23-01-2007 11:36 AM
Maya vs. 3DS, Light Wave, Rhino ino ect... THX1138 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 45 17-09-2003 02:09 PM