SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Your Work / Work In Progress / Ware house

Work In Progress Post your WIP here to get some feedback and critique from our other members.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
02-10-2008, 04:35 AM   #1
Ruff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Ware house
Hey guys, just thought i'd put up a recent WIP

this is a factory scene that i am modelling.

Im going to animate a small story in here that i have planned out.

So yeah this is what i have so far.

comments and suggestions welcomed

-Ruff
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	factory.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	40373  
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 06:25 AM   #2
Sicky
Subscriber
 
Sicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nottingham , UK
Posts: 168
thank looks well ncie m8y nice renders n lightin
__________________
WIP:Mitsibishi Evolution 8MR

FW: Mustang v6 2005
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 07:43 AM   #3
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,514
I think the shadows are a bit off, meaning, I don't think there's enough of it and those I see are really hard.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 08:30 AM   #4
Ruff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
yo :)
What do you mean by hard gect? as in hard to see or hard edged?

im presuming you mean hard edged, should i switch it to depth map shadows over raytrace then?

i wanted to kinda get some light fog through those windows but i dont know how to do it..

Cheers - ruff
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 11:46 AM   #5
shadowspy
Registered User
 
shadowspy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 116
I think he means the shadows aren't dark enough, so they're kind of hard to see.

Render looks nice though
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 12:31 PM   #6
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally posted by shadowspy
I think he means the shadows aren't dark enough, so they're kind of hard to see...
LOL Genny, they just don't get it

'hard' means sharp edges... you nead to increase the light radius in light attributes under 'shadows' and increase shadow rays to counter the artifacts.
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 02:59 PM   #7
shadowspy
Registered User
 
shadowspy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally posted by BennyK
LOL Genny, they just don't get it

'hard' means sharp edges... you nead to increase the light radius in light attributes under 'shadows' and increase shadow rays to counter the artifacts.
Benny
Sorry but English is not really my language and I might mistake some terms.
I do think they need to be darker though.
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 03:56 PM   #8
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,514
Quote:
Originally posted by shadowspy
Sorry but English is not really my language and I might mistake some terms...
I wouldn't have even guessed that if you didn't say so, your English is very good.

@Benny
I see you've changed your avatar yet again lol.

@Ruff

I meant they are too hard edged, you dont have to use depth map shadows to get softer shadowing, you can increase the light radius as Benny said, and unless you go crazy with the shadow rays, the render time shouldn't take that much of a hit. And about your light fog thingy, theres a great tut on that (you'll have to scroll a lil bit down)

----->>http://www.floze.org/2008/07/six-tut...e-part-vi.html<<----
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 05:22 PM   #9
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally posted by GecT

@Benny
I see you've changed your avatar yet again lol.
Yes, but I don't like this one either... I'm just doing lots of experiments with all sorts of lighting right now (I don't have time for anything bigger).
Nice tutorials BTW, Thanks :bow:

About the shadow maps - I never used them so I wouldn't know...
Benny

P.S.
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)

Last edited by BennyK; 02-10-2008 at 05:33 PM.
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 08:29 PM   #10
Ruff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Cheers
Hey cheers for the help guys, i'll go and see if i cant fix dem shadows, then i'll re post it

thanks again
-Ruff
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 09:09 PM   #11
Ruff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
update
Ok.. so i've done what you said.. at least ive tried to lol.
the shadows are a little softer around the edges and more .. visible. however the light shining throught the window still has a hard edge on it.. any ideas how i can soften that a little?

- Cheers ruff
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	factory2.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	40379  
  Reply with quote
02-10-2008, 09:16 PM   #12
Ruff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
PS GecT
I was lookin at your work before dude, and i have to say .... DAMN..

lol that sunset sky pic is awsome.. 15 minutes hey? ... those 3 candles look dead set real... and the light surfaces render looks ...wicked good

anyways... yeah ..

- Ruff
  Reply with quote
03-10-2008, 07:28 AM   #13
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,514
Thank you <3. And post a screengrab of the lights attr editor (mainly the shadow settings).
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
03-10-2008, 11:50 AM   #14
Ruff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Hey GecT
here are the atributes for most of my lights

first pick is the .. um .. (sun light )

second is a directional one faced toward the building.. of which im thinking about removing it completly

and the third one is the flouro lights on the inside of the building
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenhunter_05 oct. 03 21.49.gif
Views:	91
Size:	171.5 KB
ID:	40380  
  Reply with quote
03-10-2008, 11:51 AM   #15
Ruff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
2nd
2nd
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenhunter_06 oct. 03 21.51.gif
Views:	89
Size:	176.9 KB
ID:	40381  
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Training Series: Spach-Alspaugh House & Environment Nilla Site News & Announcements 0 06-10-2015 09:15 PM
Lonley house at mountains Skalman Work In Progress 1 06-10-2013 09:45 PM
How would I make texture for a Gingerbread House? cool_inuyasha_girl Work In Progress 1 21-03-2013 05:27 AM
modeling a house SimplyMarc Simply Maya Tutorials 3 22-05-2011 12:36 PM
My house...not...anyway: a house Renderizer Work In Progress 10 17-11-2003 07:41 PM