Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 21-09-2013 , 08:48 PM

Can't import a obj. file

I'm new with maya.

So the problem is that i export a obj. model and I save it, but when i'm going to load that file nothing apears, I don't know what i'm suposed to do if this happens.

Help please. user added image

# 2 21-09-2013 , 09:13 PM
Bored but busy
Import the file to open it

# 3 21-09-2013 , 09:21 PM

Import the file to open it

I import it, that's the problem. Whem I import it nothing apears.

# 4 21-09-2013 , 09:44 PM
Super Moderator
How are you setting up your export options? Have you checked the file size of the obj? Maybe nothing is being exported.

- Genny
# 5 21-09-2013 , 09:54 PM

How are you setting up your export options? Have you checked the file size of the obj? Maybe nothing is being exported.

Where can I see the export option and the size of the obj? Like I told you before... I'm pretty new with maya.

# 6 21-09-2013 , 10:08 PM

Its more likely nothing is being exported because I did the texture and then I took another taxture from internet and when i selected "export all" option it only import the texture from internet afterwards. I don't know what should I do with my texture so it could select it and export it.

Any suggestions?

# 7 22-09-2013 , 04:29 AM
Super Moderator
When you got to click on "export" there should be a small box to the right, this lets you access the options. Checking the size of the obj file has little to do with Maya, browse to the folder just like any other file on your operating system and check the file size. Is it possible for you to upload the scene?

- Genny
# 8 22-09-2013 , 05:35 PM