SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Lighting & Rendering / blurry alpha channel edges

Lighting & Rendering General Lighting, Camera & Rendering Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
08-05-2005, 12:04 AM   #1
Gun-Kata
Registered User
 
Gun-Kata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
blurry alpha channel edges
Hello,

I am trying to render some foreground stuff in a separate pass so I can later composite it into the background, but the edges in the alpha channel aren't sharp enough, resulting in a blurry halo around the foreground objects. Does anyone know how to make the edges of the matte sharper?
  Reply with quote
09-05-2005, 12:21 AM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
its not blury I belive, if you will look close, its that the background color got mixed in with the color along the AA'ed edges. 2 ideas for it a more nutral background color with the things you are compositing with. 2nd is do a negitive a inverted background, with a inverted mask. < should suck out the offending color.
  Reply with quote
09-05-2005, 10:11 AM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
is motion blur turned on? post a pic so we can see.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
  Reply with quote
09-05-2005, 11:27 AM   #4
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally posted by Pony
2nd is do a negitive a inverted background, with a inverted mask. < should suck out the offending color.
Man my head is spinning :o Can you explain this further Pony

Regards
Paul
  Reply with quote
09-05-2005, 08:38 PM   #5
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
pure, some pic's for you. If this is what there talking about. Its not motion blur.

tga image saved out with alpha. Alpha is acruat. Note the black background.
btw 2x size on the image to show things more clearly, used nerest naber on the resize.
Attached Images
 
  Reply with quote
09-05-2005, 08:41 PM   #6
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
ok using the alpha map corectly you will still see that some of the black of the background was mixed in to the semi-tranparnet AA'ed pixels on the edge.. This creats the ring efect. Not a bad alpha.
Attached Images
 
  Reply with quote
09-05-2005, 08:42 PM   #7
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
I'll wait to see what pure thinks, BMS. Might not need to do that if he knows something.
  Reply with quote
09-05-2005, 09:10 PM   #8
Gun-Kata
Registered User
 
Gun-Kata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Hello,

Thanks for the tips! The image i'm trying to get is of an island with some vegetation on it. I did the vegetation with Paint FX and I was just simply unable to get a good alpha of just the paint FX and their shadows, so what I did was I rendered a pass with both the island and the paint FX (top pic):

http://animation.filmtv.ucla.edu/stu...na/alpha2.html

The problem I am having now is getting a good ocean pass. The biggest problem is getting rid of the Sky portion of the Water/Sky envFog Material. Even if I set it to just Water, there still seems to be some Sky fog showing up. The pic you see here of the alpha channel had the levels adjusted in photoshop to more clearly show the lingering fog. The last pic I tried rendering against a white background, but that didn't work either. I have no idea where to go from here, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
  Reply with quote
09-05-2005, 09:54 PM   #9
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
got some cool pfx on that. try chaning the envimrnet color on the camara for the render of the water. to your sky color. Should help some.
  Reply with quote
10-05-2005, 08:21 AM   #10
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Pony my first guess is that it's a premultiplication problem. That can create halo effects and stuff around objects in comp. I'm not 100% on that but its definatley where i'd start.


Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dirty glass and an alpha channel BuzzinFly Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 25-01-2014 03:08 PM
Alpha Channel Problem. jeremybenson10 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 17-10-2011 01:32 PM
Spec value coming from alpha channel? gubar Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 25-01-2009 03:41 PM
Alpha Channel visible using Ray Tracing. ArtieLange Lighting & Rendering 5 24-07-2007 05:24 PM
alpha channel maps? strytus Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 11-02-2003 01:02 AM