SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Dynamics & Special Effects / Maya Strange fluid transparency problem

Dynamics & Special Effects Maya Particles, nDynamics, Fluids, Rigid Bodies & General VFX

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
01-09-2011, 08:22 PM   #1
sobol
Registered User
 
sobol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Maya Strange fluid transparency problem
I made a nuclear explosion and have a strange fluid transparency problem. See link below. There are also my fluid shading parameters.

How can I fix this? Maybe someone has similar problem?

I will be grateful for help

link to image:

http://essentialstudio.com/3_PLIKI/fluid_problem.jpg
  Reply with quote
02-09-2011, 08:10 AM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
I think your problem is you are using lights to brighten the ring, use the incandescence of the fluid texture for that.............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
02-09-2011, 10:55 AM   #3
sobol
Registered User
 
sobol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Thank you for your respond I tried to turn off all lights on my scene but this solution doesn't work. Below I post the link to the image without lights in the scene.

I tried to render in software render but the result is the same ;/
any other solution?

http://essentialstudio.com/3_PLIKI/f...m_nolights.png
  Reply with quote
02-09-2011, 11:36 AM   #4
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Have you tried rendering in mental ray...........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
02-09-2011, 11:40 AM   #5
sobol
Registered User
 
sobol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
yes the first render was made with mental ray.
  Reply with quote
02-09-2011, 11:47 AM   #6
sobol
Registered User
 
sobol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
I tried to put plane behind the nuke fluid. And the result is below.
Its strange for me. It looks like opacity and transparency of fluids are ok. hmm ;/

http://essentialstudio.com/3_PLIKI/f...plane_test.png
  Reply with quote
02-09-2011, 12:57 PM   #7
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
try another shader on the ring.........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
02-09-2011, 07:53 PM   #8
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
If you render the fluid in a separate pass, you can use it's alpha channel to mask out the other elements. It also gives you the ability to color correct each system separately.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
02-09-2011, 09:03 PM   #9
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Quote:
If you render the fluid in a separate pass, you can use it's alpha channel to mask out the other elements. It also gives you the ability to color correct each system separately.
Yes you can but I would like to know why its doing that..........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
02-09-2011, 09:39 PM   #10
sobol
Registered User
 
sobol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
I tried today make new container with basic setup and the effect is the same. For sure the option is to render inividual passes for each container but that doesn't solve the problem.
  Reply with quote
04-09-2011, 06:06 PM   #11
sobol
Registered User
 
sobol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
I solved my problem!

The solution is to increase the Volume Samples Override in the RenderStats Section
of the Fluid.
  Reply with quote
21-07-2013, 01:37 PM   #12
Goffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Hi, I ve the same probleme as you, but with clouds. each cloud is seen by transparency ... and your solution only works on few of them. Any idea ?
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trouble opening maya scene jooleyinboots Maya Technical Issues 2 03-02-2014 09:11 PM
HumanIK Animation problem in maya. eman72 Animation 1 12-09-2013 02:32 PM
HumanIK Animation problem in maya. eman72 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 09-09-2013 05:04 PM
Maya Doesn't Startup Properly - Just Script Editor threedsnack Maya Technical Issues 1 04-02-2008 11:55 AM
fur rendering failed????? olivermagno Maya Materials & Textures 2 21-05-2003 01:36 AM